Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I made this recipe as written several years ago and they were wonderful, if a little mild in the meat filling. I'm getting ready to make them again. I think I'm going to squeeze a couple of fresh brats out of the casings to add to the beef. And I'll probably use sauerkrat. YUM! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
These turned out beautifully.....just the right proportion of dough to filling.....it made 13 large bierocks....I took some hot Italian sausages out of the casings and used more sausage than ground beef....the bread is wonderful and worth making.....I wouldn't sub anything else....I served them with homemade mango chutney and they were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYNE04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
The filling was to die for! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't measure out the cabbage, I just used about 1/2 a head of it and it was just enough. I also didn't use the dough from this recipe, I used the "Sweet Dinner Rolls" for the dough (since it's easy and I don't have powdered milk). Turned out excellent, except I had more filling than dough. Made them all and froze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Deliciously filling! My family stuffed themselves on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
We had a German potluck at our Lutheran School and I needed a recipie I could make ahead and freeze so my husband could warm up while I was at work. These fit the bill perfect and they were delicious. I will be making more for my own family to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Tried this recipe on a Saturday when I had more time to make the dough. I had to add about 3/4 cup more flour because it was too sticky. They turned out great, nice and soft bread exterior. Wonderful as leftovers. A great weekend experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I too used Rhodes rolls to save time. This is an excellent recipe. I have also filled them with chopped ham, smoked gouda mixed with a bit of mayo and stone ground mustard. Yum. For a very kid friendly bierock, mix pizza sauce with shredded mozzerella & chopped pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Oops! Made in error in my review dated June 21. What I meant to say was that I divided the dough in half, divided the two pieces in half again and each of the four pieces into thirds. Then made three rolls from each of the thirds. Sorry...I think I have confused myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
These are fantastic! I used kraut instead of cabbage and Rhodes bread dough instead of making my own and they really turned out well. The recipe makes A LOT so I ended up freezing half of the meat mixture and I still had over 5 servings. They are very good reheated and even tasty cold! I was also thinking that it would be fun to make "Mini Bierocks" for party appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
These were outstanding!! I used a "savory sage" flavor sausage, which gave these a wonderful smell and flavor. Next time I think I will add a bit more cabbage. I did cheat and use a store-bought bread dough. It helped to make these a relatively fast meal. I only wish the leftovers had lasted more than a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States