Kraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I had some leftover kraut & found this recipe after an ingredient search. Although my husband didn't care for it, I loved it. I think he was expecting more of a beef meatball. The flavor was tangy but the cream cheese mellowed it out. I dipped mine in a warm apricot dipping sauce (apricot jelly, mustard, honey) and thought it was excellent. I might tinker with the recipe and try it as a hot dip, baked with the cracker crumbs on top. Thanks for a treat Kendrajean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Wonderful surprise. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
These are really good! I halved the recipe since it was just my husband and I and it was plenty for the two of us. I will be serving these New Years Day along side the rest of the annual kraut dishes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I experienced this wonderful appetizer this last Christmas and it was great!! The only difference in recipes is mine has about a 1/4 cup of minced onions, reg. mustard, bread crumbs instead of crackers and only 4 oz oz cream cheese. I actually just made the recipe myself earlier today and I didn't have any bread crumbs. Not wanting to go to the store I thought about using the crushed crackers but was to afraid of changing what I had already loved. Now I know that it has been done and I will definetly try it w/ more cream cheese and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Not sure why the recipes calls for dijon musturd. It should call for regular yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year and they are a huge hit!! I found that refrigerating them overnight seemed to bring out the flavors more than just refrigerating for 1 hour. These are excellent!! Try with a dip of equal parts mayo and dijon mustard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
OH my goodness! I love sauerkraut, my b/f does not. This was probably the most original recipe I've found yet that utilizes sauerkraut, which I was trying to get rid of. These were too easy & fun to make! I had only 1/2 lb. sausage & was cooking for two, so I halved the recipe. [Using less cream cheese is TOTALLY OK!] I used half a pkg. of cream cheese and threw in a couple wedges of Wee Brie for extra creaminess. I didnt even freaking let the mix sit for an hour before rolling them into balls and baking them; my b/f RAVED and said they were soo-oo delicious. I served them alongside fresh sauteed grean beans and they made a great meal! This is SUCH a keeper, especially for a German sauerkraut loving girl like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We replaced the Sausage with ground beef and left out the mustard but these were so good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Fantastic! I do have to agree with some of the other reviewers here that there is a bit too much moisture. Next time I will cut the amount of cream cheese. I am also going to add some sauteed onion, I think that would really add to the flavor of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These are addicting, I only used half the amount of cream cheese, and they were delicious. Messy to make, but worth it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States