Kraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Fantastic! I do have to agree with some of the other reviewers here that there is a bit too much moisture. Next time I will cut the amount of cream cheese. I am also going to add some sauteed onion, I think that would really add to the flavor of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
OH my goodness! I love sauerkraut, my b/f does not. This was probably the most original recipe I've found yet that utilizes sauerkraut, which I was trying to get rid of. These were too easy & fun to make! I had only 1/2 lb. sausage & was cooking for two, so I halved the recipe. [Using less cream cheese is TOTALLY OK!] I used half a pkg. of cream cheese and threw in a couple wedges of Wee Brie for extra creaminess. I didnt even freaking let the mix sit for an hour before rolling them into balls and baking them; my b/f RAVED and said they were soo-oo delicious. I served them alongside fresh sauteed grean beans and they made a great meal! This is SUCH a keeper, especially for a German sauerkraut loving girl like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year and they are a huge hit!! I found that refrigerating them overnight seemed to bring out the flavors more than just refrigerating for 1 hour. These are excellent!! Try with a dip of equal parts mayo and dijon mustard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My husband loved them...I liked them. I reduced the amount of sauerkraut and cream cheese. There was way too much moisture to roll them into balls. Next time I make them for my husband, I will reduce the cream cheese even more to just 1/2 pkg. And will chop up the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I have never used the mustard, but we like to spice it up. 1 green pepper diced, 1 small onion diced, 2tbsp jalapenos diced. We use seasoned bread crumbs. They are a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I had some leftover kraut & found this recipe after an ingredient search. Although my husband didn't care for it, I loved it. I think he was expecting more of a beef meatball. The flavor was tangy but the cream cheese mellowed it out. I dipped mine in a warm apricot dipping sauce (apricot jelly, mustard, honey) and thought it was excellent. I might tinker with the recipe and try it as a hot dip, baked with the cracker crumbs on top. Thanks for a treat Kendrajean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
These are really good! I halved the recipe since it was just my husband and I and it was plenty for the two of us. I will be serving these New Years Day along side the rest of the annual kraut dishes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These would be wonderful served as an appetizer, I felt they were missing something to be served as the main dish. Make sure to crush the crackers so they are very fine and not to roll the balls too large. Otherwise the measurements were perfect. I used yellow mustard and chilled for five hours in the fridge. I'm not sure how "German" this would be but next time I think I'll mix in some fresh chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Wonderful surprise. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I love sour krout, but this was still a little odd for me. I halved the amount of cream cheese and the texture was good, but the krout was too strong of a flavor for me. I needs something sweet or spicy to balance out the strong krout flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States