Kraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
These are really good! I halved the recipe since it was just my husband and I and it was plenty for the two of us. I will be serving these New Years Day along side the rest of the annual kraut dishes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I had some leftover kraut & found this recipe after an ingredient search. Although my husband didn't care for it, I loved it. I think he was expecting more of a beef meatball. The flavor was tangy but the cream cheese mellowed it out. I dipped mine in a warm apricot dipping sauce (apricot jelly, mustard, honey) and thought it was excellent. I might tinker with the recipe and try it as a hot dip, baked with the cracker crumbs on top. Thanks for a treat Kendrajean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My husband loved them...I liked them. I reduced the amount of sauerkraut and cream cheese. There was way too much moisture to roll them into balls. Next time I make them for my husband, I will reduce the cream cheese even more to just 1/2 pkg. And will chop up the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I experienced this wonderful appetizer this last Christmas and it was great!! The only difference in recipes is mine has about a 1/4 cup of minced onions, reg. mustard, bread crumbs instead of crackers and only 4 oz oz cream cheese. I actually just made the recipe myself earlier today and I didn't have any bread crumbs. Not wanting to go to the store I thought about using the crushed crackers but was to afraid of changing what I had already loved. Now I know that it has been done and I will definetly try it w/ more cream cheese and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Not sure why the recipes calls for dijon musturd. It should call for regular yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year and they are a huge hit!! I found that refrigerating them overnight seemed to bring out the flavors more than just refrigerating for 1 hour. These are excellent!! Try with a dip of equal parts mayo and dijon mustard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Wonderful surprise. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These would be wonderful served as an appetizer, I felt they were missing something to be served as the main dish. Make sure to crush the crackers so they are very fine and not to roll the balls too large. Otherwise the measurements were perfect. I used yellow mustard and chilled for five hours in the fridge. I'm not sure how "German" this would be but next time I think I'll mix in some fresh chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I thought this was very heavy on the cream cheese, so I only used one 8oz block, and it still was too creamy for me, but my partner liked it. I would consider increasing the meat, or still decreasing the cream cheese content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
OH my goodness! I love sauerkraut, my b/f does not. This was probably the most original recipe I've found yet that utilizes sauerkraut, which I was trying to get rid of. These were too easy & fun to make! I had only 1/2 lb. sausage & was cooking for two, so I halved the recipe. [Using less cream cheese is TOTALLY OK!] I used half a pkg. of cream cheese and threw in a couple wedges of Wee Brie for extra creaminess. I didnt even freaking let the mix sit for an hour before rolling them into balls and baking them; my b/f RAVED and said they were soo-oo delicious. I served them alongside fresh sauteed grean beans and they made a great meal! This is SUCH a keeper, especially for a German sauerkraut loving girl like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States