Kowloon's Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was a great recipe! The chicken was very flavorful I did however eliminate the salt and added 1tablespoons of hoisin sauce and 1 tablespoon of oyster sauce. Better than the Chinese restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dgolden
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I recommend using about half the salt. I used low sodium soy and it was still too salty for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Everyone is saying it is too salty because it is. I grew up on these wings. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
WAY WAY TOO SALTY DO NOT PUT THE SALT IN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Like many others mentioned, there is too much salt. The wings ended up tasting like salt, followed by soy-sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yingtchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful flavor. I followed the tips and only did a bit of salt and baked for a lower fat version. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I didn't have the gin, used chinese cooking wine instead. Left out most of the salt, 1tbsp only. Next time I leave out all the salt. I added 1tsp. onion powder and 0.5tsp garlic powder. All chinese food has ginger, garlic and onion. I only had 4 hrs to marinade. Worked out great, a bit salty. I'd make it again for sure. My whole family gobbled them up. Took about 5 or 6 minutes to cook in the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed this recipe just as it is written and I don't think I could alter it to make it any better. However I did use a generic brand and small party piece wings, I will use a better quality of chicken next time and shop for good size wings. A very good and easy recipe that this cook is sure to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Good flavor but way, way too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used light soy and added an 1/8 t of chinese 5 spice powder to the marinade...i grilled them (indirect charcoal fire)and i thought that they came out very good...i boiled the marinade and basted them a couple of times during their time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States