Koula's Best Ever Chicken Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
We didn't have any pita bread, so we wrapped these in flour tortillas! They were great! We will be making these again (hopefully with pitas next time!). Thanks, Itsie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I was skeptical about the sauce on these gyros, because it didn't strike me as the flavors we look for in a good gyro. My experimental nature prevailed, and I'm glad it did! These were great! Really hit the spot for our patio lunch. Thanks ITSIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Tasty, fast, easy dinner or lunch. Even the kids liked it! We needed to add a little salt for our taste. It would taste even better if it was grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Easy great recipe. I let the chicken marinate in some of the yogurt and added some 1/4 tsp of cardamom just 'cause I can't resist fiddling. But will definately make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This was great! A little different than traditional gyros, but the blend of spices made this dish delicious! The 3 chicken breasts I used were rather large, and the ratio of sauce to meat looked a little deficient, so I doubled the sauce recipe...this is definitely a "make-again" recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I strongly suggest that a glass baking dish NOT be used for this recipe. Glass dishes are not made for broiling and cannot withstand the high heat.Please use a metal baking pan for safety!!! I have not yet tried this recipe but it sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I just wanted to say that I submited this recipe, and originally I advised the use of 'tahini' - Middle Eastern susame paste traditionally used in flavoring gyros - but it was changed by the site into plain yogurt, which I think does a disservice to this recipe. In general, the addition of tahini all over the Middle East gives that final extra kick to the otherwise rather bland taste of grilled gyros. Also, lamb gyros is much more fragrant and robust than chicken one, so its even more important for the chicken one to have a right condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was a tasty dinner. My husband said it reminded him of the Turkish "kebabs" he enjoyed in Germany. I warmed the pita pockets in a grill pan on the stove top, cut 1/4 off the top, lined the inside with romaine lettuce leaves (while the pita is still warm and flexible!), added in the tasty broiled chicken and topped it with "Tzatsiki Sauce" (also from this website) instead of yogurt. It was such a wonderful blend of warm and cool flavors. Thanks ITSIE! We'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donalsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I haven't had time to do more than sample the chicken, but it tastes delicious! I made it as the recipe calls for, but grilled the chicken strips rather than broil them...very yummy and tender. I made cucumber sauce to serve on it with greens and rice. I'm looking forward to dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States