Koula's Best Ever Chicken Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I just wanted to say that I submited this recipe, and originally I advised the use of 'tahini' - Middle Eastern susame paste traditionally used in flavoring gyros - but it was changed by the site into plain yogurt, which I think does a disservice to this recipe. In general, the addition of tahini all over the Middle East gives that final extra kick to the otherwise rather bland taste of grilled gyros. Also, lamb gyros is much more fragrant and robust than chicken one, so its even more important for the chicken one to have a right condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These were OK, but I prefer a more mediteranean taste. Try marinating your chicken breast strips in olive oil, lemon, oregano, parsley, garlic and a dash of pepper. We prefer tzaziki sauce, tomatoes, onion and a bit of lettuce if you like. It's also really good if you charcoal a whole chicken (or buy one from Costco!) and strip the meat - dark and white from the chicken and use it for the gyros. We called these Chicken Souvlaki in Australia. Try serving with Tabouli salad and hummus on the side for a nice summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was a tasty dinner. My husband said it reminded him of the Turkish "kebabs" he enjoyed in Germany. I warmed the pita pockets in a grill pan on the stove top, cut 1/4 off the top, lined the inside with romaine lettuce leaves (while the pita is still warm and flexible!), added in the tasty broiled chicken and topped it with "Tzatsiki Sauce" (also from this website) instead of yogurt. It was such a wonderful blend of warm and cool flavors. Thanks ITSIE! We'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I was skeptical about the sauce on these gyros, because it didn't strike me as the flavors we look for in a good gyro. My experimental nature prevailed, and I'm glad it did! These were great! Really hit the spot for our patio lunch. Thanks ITSIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I strongly suggest that a glass baking dish NOT be used for this recipe. Glass dishes are not made for broiling and cannot withstand the high heat.Please use a metal baking pan for safety!!! I have not yet tried this recipe but it sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
These were deicious and very quick and easy to make. The only recommendation I would make is to use tzatziki instead of just plain yogurt. I prefer Alton Brown's very simple tzatziki recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Made this tonite and the whole fam loved it. I let the chicken marinade for about 1/2 hour then grilled it. It was very moist and had a terrific flavor. It definitely needed salt and pepper to finish the seasoning. I served it with Tzatziki V11 from this site instead of the plain yogurt. I made only half a recipe of tzatziki and we had plenty. This was a great recipe as well and complemented the gyros perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
very tasty and easy! added a lil shredded cheese and used sour cream instead of yogurt, and they were fabulous! this is a great standby when i need something fast, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This was great! A little different than traditional gyros, but the blend of spices made this dish delicious! The 3 chicken breasts I used were rather large, and the ratio of sauce to meat looked a little deficient, so I doubled the sauce recipe...this is definitely a "make-again" recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
3 stars only because it was edible - but it was nothing like I think gyros taste like. It tasted more like chicken saty, but wasn't even that good. Nobody went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States