Koula's Best Ever Chicken Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
We didn't have any pita bread, so we wrapped these in flour tortillas! They were great! We will be making these again (hopefully with pitas next time!). Thanks, Itsie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I was skeptical about the sauce on these gyros, because it didn't strike me as the flavors we look for in a good gyro. My experimental nature prevailed, and I'm glad it did! These were great! Really hit the spot for our patio lunch. Thanks ITSIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Tasty, fast, easy dinner or lunch. Even the kids liked it! We needed to add a little salt for our taste. It would taste even better if it was grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
I found this to be average. My husband thought the taste was a little off. The plain yogurt didn't add much. Maybe adding some dill to the yogurt would have helped. It was fast and easy but those are the only high points we walked away with after trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Easy great recipe. I let the chicken marinate in some of the yogurt and added some 1/4 tsp of cardamom just 'cause I can't resist fiddling. But will definately make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
3 stars only because it was edible - but it was nothing like I think gyros taste like. It tasted more like chicken saty, but wasn't even that good. Nobody went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This was great! A little different than traditional gyros, but the blend of spices made this dish delicious! The 3 chicken breasts I used were rather large, and the ratio of sauce to meat looked a little deficient, so I doubled the sauce recipe...this is definitely a "make-again" recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I strongly suggest that a glass baking dish NOT be used for this recipe. Glass dishes are not made for broiling and cannot withstand the high heat.Please use a metal baking pan for safety!!! I have not yet tried this recipe but it sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I just wanted to say that I submited this recipe, and originally I advised the use of 'tahini' - Middle Eastern susame paste traditionally used in flavoring gyros - but it was changed by the site into plain yogurt, which I think does a disservice to this recipe. In general, the addition of tahini all over the Middle East gives that final extra kick to the otherwise rather bland taste of grilled gyros. Also, lamb gyros is much more fragrant and robust than chicken one, so its even more important for the chicken one to have a right condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Have to agree with most that this does not taste like a gyros. Was pretty good, served on pita with a cucumber dressing. Don't think I'll make again unless I have a hankering for curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States