Koula's Best Ever Chicken Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I don't know what happen to this recipe, it smell good and all as I was cooking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This most definately did not taste like any Gyro that we have ever eaten. My family asked that I not make it again. Tasted more like an imitation barbeque sauce type marinade. The only savior was adding Tzatziki sauce instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Made this tonite and the whole fam loved it. I let the chicken marinade for about 1/2 hour then grilled it. It was very moist and had a terrific flavor. It definitely needed salt and pepper to finish the seasoning. I served it with Tzatziki V11 from this site instead of the plain yogurt. I made only half a recipe of tzatziki and we had plenty. This was a great recipe as well and complemented the gyros perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Very good! I thought about cucumber sauce, and then sour cream, but went with the yogurt and was surprised that it still tasted wonderful. I think I'll add some onions next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This was only okay - no wow factor. Adults liked, kids did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These were OK, but I prefer a more mediteranean taste. Try marinating your chicken breast strips in olive oil, lemon, oregano, parsley, garlic and a dash of pepper. We prefer tzaziki sauce, tomatoes, onion and a bit of lettuce if you like. It's also really good if you charcoal a whole chicken (or buy one from Costco!) and strip the meat - dark and white from the chicken and use it for the gyros. We called these Chicken Souvlaki in Australia. Try serving with Tabouli salad and hummus on the side for a nice summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
These were deicious and very quick and easy to make. The only recommendation I would make is to use tzatziki instead of just plain yogurt. I prefer Alton Brown's very simple tzatziki recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I haven't had time to do more than sample the chicken, but it tastes delicious! I made it as the recipe calls for, but grilled the chicken strips rather than broil them...very yummy and tender. I made cucumber sauce to serve on it with greens and rice. I'm looking forward to dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
very tasty and easy! added a lil shredded cheese and used sour cream instead of yogurt, and they were fabulous! this is a great standby when i need something fast, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States