Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Very good, worth the wait. I added a small amount of water to the salt so that it could be "pressed" to the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
All I can say is AWESOME. I made this for Father's Day this year. It was the first time that I had made a Prime Rib at home. Juicy, tender and incredible flavor!!! The only thing that was not accurate, was the cooking time. We like our Prime rib medium rare, so it only took about 4 hours to cook to our liking. But, It was EXCELLENT! Thank You, Lili Osborne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
It was the juicest Prime Rib I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
Slow cooking and packing the salt on to the roast made for one fantastic xmas meal. Make sure to put in a meat thermometer so you can serve the roast to your desired liking...ie rare, med, etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
I have never cooked a rib this way but have always wanted to try. I was a little worried about the rib being too salty or that it would not cook in time for my event but all went well using a meat thermometer. A 10.02 lb. rib started cooking at noon and was out of the oven by 6-6:15 and was done to a very nice Medium rare on the thicker end and a nice Med on the smaller end. This was a flavorful, juicy and tender meal and I knew all was well when a room full of women bacame quiet....REALLY quiet! My Ladies Night out dinner was a success and we all reccomend this method of cooking a prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
The guests raved over the juicy, tender, free of what was expected to be a salty morsel of meat. We use this recipe when we entertain special guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This is our favorite thing to make with company! We have slow-grilled it and baked it in the oven. I have told everyone of the secret of the Salt - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
When I bought my first prime rib ever, the butcher told me to slather it in mustard and coat it with Kosher salt. This is so easy and delicous, and the way we always cook it! Serve with creamed horseradish on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Oh my gosh! We had this for Christmas dinner yesterday, and it's simply the best ever. Scary at first, cuz it looked like a snowball. Very moist, consistently cooked throughout, and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sprague, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Expensive yes, but worth it!!!! We had an 8 pound rib roast which served 6. We stuck garlic cloves in for a little extra flavoring. This was not salty at all. This smells so wonderful cooking. The juice mixed with red wine makes a nice dipping sauce. We had homemade sourdough bread, baked potato, tomato/zuchini salad, and red wine. I will have this again, as much as possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States