Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
All I can say is AWESOME. I made this for Father's Day this year. It was the first time that I had made a Prime Rib at home. Juicy, tender and incredible flavor!!! The only thing that was not accurate, was the cooking time. We like our Prime rib medium rare, so it only took about 4 hours to cook to our liking. But, It was EXCELLENT! Thank You, Lili Osborne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Flavor was great, but be sure to go by your own taste for meat, as far as when it is done. 5 hours brought my rib to being well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
It was the juicest Prime Rib I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I looked all over the internet for a good prime rib recipe - I chose this one. The time seemed incorrect and other reviewers mentioned this (cooked in about half the time). So I figured from looking at other recipes that my 16 pound roast should take about 10 hours at 210 degrees - and it did. I did add to the recipe 4 cloves of garlic that I crushed and spread with the pepper on top under the salt. I was very pleased with the outcome and will reuse this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
Slow cooking and packing the salt on to the roast made for one fantastic xmas meal. Make sure to put in a meat thermometer so you can serve the roast to your desired liking...ie rare, med, etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
I have never cooked a rib this way but have always wanted to try. I was a little worried about the rib being too salty or that it would not cook in time for my event but all went well using a meat thermometer. A 10.02 lb. rib started cooking at noon and was out of the oven by 6-6:15 and was done to a very nice Medium rare on the thicker end and a nice Med on the smaller end. This was a flavorful, juicy and tender meal and I knew all was well when a room full of women bacame quiet....REALLY quiet! My Ladies Night out dinner was a success and we all reccomend this method of cooking a prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
The guests raved over the juicy, tender, free of what was expected to be a salty morsel of meat. We use this recipe when we entertain special guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
This just isn't that great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Temp is weird, my oven doesn't have a 210 degree setting, so I used 225 deg. I didn't time it, I used a meat therm. It had a good flavor, but I like to be able to use the au jus and you couldn't...too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This roast turned out superb! to say the least, I have cooked several ribs and this recipe is the best. I did crush 4 cloves of garlic ,mixed that with the pepper and spread on top before salting. Also I used a 8 1/2 lb roast, which I believe the recipe should call for. Put it in at 11:30am done at 5:00pm perfectly medium. My kids could not get enough, This will be our Christmas tradition dinner. Mike Gibson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States