Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
OMG this was the best recipe!!! I love prime rib but this was the first time I tried making it. I wish we could afford to make it every week. It was easy and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Mine didn't work. Couldn't get it to stick properly (very hard to do) so the juices ran out and the salt ran in! lol. But I can imagine it must be just wonderful if you get it right. Won't be trying again without help though, thats for sure. $Cha-Ching!$
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I had never made prime rib before and was so surprised at how amazing it turned out with such a simple recipe. I did use a little bit of water with the kosher salt to make it stick to the outside of the prime rib. I only made 2 pounds worth and it was done right around 2 hours after cooking. Great recipe, I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I have done salt crusted prime rib before, this was not as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Favorite way to roast a rib roast, used a boneless rib roast, used Adobo seasoning (do not think the additional salt is necessary) - roast was done perfectly (for our taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was super easy and the cooking temp/time was perfect, so tender. I used a small roast (about 2.5 pounds) and think that using a larger roast might have been better as it was a little salty. If I do this again, I will not cover the sides in the salt, just the top. Most of the salt formed a crust, but in the area's where the salt was not thick enough (sides, due to falling off) the crust didn't form as well so the salt was more difficult to remove. These area's were too salty. Where the crust came off the meat was perfect and not too salty. I do not want to give a bad review as the majority of the meat was absolutely delicious. The recipe does say to be sure to remove ALL the salt before serving, and if this would have been as easy to do as stated this would be perfect, but the area's where the salt didn't crust (the sides, due to being thin from salt falling off) it was difficult to do. I also took the suggestion of adding some water to the salt as I coated the meat to try and make the salt stick, this was very helpful. I do plan on making this again, using a larger roast and leaving salt off of the sides. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
PERFECT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Made this for our Christmas dinner...it was the BEST prime rib we have ever had!! My husband was total impressed after seeing it in the oven encrusted a salt he thought I had ruined it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Out-of-this-world-delicious! Left-overs were even better. I was concerned that the low/slow cooking method would take forever, but 6 lb rolled rib roast cooked perfectly in just over four hours - warm and pink throughout. Meat was fork-tender, juicy, and literally melted in my mouth . Next time I hope to try additional herbs under the salt coating. Salt on the bottom of the pan absorbed all the drippings, but clean up was as easy as rinsing out roasting pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States