Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
We made this for Thanksgiving and it was soooooo good. I will never cook prime rib any other way. I followed the recipe to the letter. It was so easy. I had a 10 lb. roast that I cooked for 7 hours at 220 degrees. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This came out perfect. It tasted much better than I thought it would. I ended up using a ton more salt since just kept adding to the outside. I used a little water to make the salt stick better and when I was done it looked like a Roman statue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Great recipe thanks for sharing. My mom is particular about prime rib and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSiguaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This rub was delicious. I could see putting this on baked chicken too. The only ingredient I'll add less of the next time is the Kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was excellent! I made a 2lb. roast and had it in the oven for 2 hours - until the thermometer read 138. I let it rest for 1/2 hr. and it was perfectly pink. The only problem I had was with the salt. I think since the cooking time was considerably shorter than the recipe called for, the salt didn't have enough time to form a solid crust. I scraped off as much as I could, but the edges were still pretty salty. Will make again though... maybe with a bigger roast. (I also used "wet" salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is a very simple dish to make with a great teast to it.I cooked mine a little longer (only because my wife doesn't like the meat as rare as this) but even with that it came out great.I used a first cut meat (2 ribs cost about $50.00) and like others have said it was a hands off deal after it went into the oven.It does take more salt then 2 cup but when you brush the roast with ex-v it helps make the salt stick better and adds a little more taste to.Try it and you'll never cook it any other way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by captainbob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Awesome! I had to use the whole box of kosher salt and I used some water to meld it together. Be sure to brush off the excess salt after you pull off the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I was scared, never made prime rib before & was making for my husband for fathers day, came out fantastic, I rubbed in garlic & rosemary per other reviews & I think that definately made it, the salt came right off after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was the best prime rib. It seemed strange to pat on the wet salt but it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This didn't work for me. I am not sure what I did wrong or because the meat was small (about 2 lbs) but it did not crust except for the top. It was easy to remove there and the meat was moist and so good but every where else the salt didn't crust so I couldn't remove it. The meant was salty even though I tried to scrap it off. I think it is something I did and not the recipe so I don't want to give this a bad review. As I said, where I got it to crust (top) the meat was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States