Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
First time I have ever made a rib roast... but it turned out amazing! Super easy! I also cut small slits in fat side and stuffed garlic inside. The day after I made prime rib sandwiches with left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Add me to the list of happy prime ribbers! This was one of the best I have ever cooked. I did add water to the salt and for fear of it being to salty(yeh i know I read ALL the reviews and yes it is not salty!) I took cheese cloth and wrapped it twice around the middle, this protected the end pieces, to get the salt to stick on the cheesecloth i put olive oil on it and the salt stuck perfectly! The top and the bottom did not have any cheesecloth and the salt made a perfect crust. When I removed it 125 let it sit 20 minutes, removed the salt crust and popped back in the oven at 350 for 10- 15 minutes, I prefer my prime rib warmer, It was cooked perfectly, everyone RAVED! took it out at 135 degrees medium rare perfection. When cooking prime rib YOU MUST USE A THERMOMETER!! period! it was tender juicy and had a wonderful flavor. I sprinkled garlic powder all over it before I put on the crust, for those disappointed on no ajus, just buy "Johnny's Au Jus" located somewhere around the BBQ sauces and ketchup in your local store, it is concentrated and is way better than Au Jus I can make and is 100 times better than the pkg mix!! Problem solved! Enjoy and try this don't be scared it is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for our Seder meal at church and everyone just raved about it. I was pretty shocked myself on how well it turned out! I used a 15 pound roast and it was boneless and still only used about 2 cups of salt. I also cut slivers of garlic and stuffed down inside the roast. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I love this recipe in that it gives me the basic time and how much I need of what. I'm a cook that almost always adds stuff to a recipe. 1; use yellow mustard to "glue" on the salt. Truly, you will not taste it. I've always made it this way. I found this tip on another recipe, but their cooking time wasn't very good. I slice up fresh garlic and then cut slits into the fat of the steaks and slide them in there. Rub with montreal steak seasoning and let stand at room temp. till it's no longer as cold. Rub with mustard and then the salt. Truly, promise, you won't taste any mustard!!! I do let it set for 20-30 mins, but it's important that it's covered with foil and in a warm place or it will grow cold and that makes me sad. The size roast you want is typically 1 bone per 2 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I followed recommendations from other members by moistening the salt in order to aid the crust formation. I also kept salt off the ends to eliminate oversalting those pieces. Furthermore I started with an oven preheated to 500 degrees, cooking the roast for 5 minutes before lowering the temp to 210 for 4.5 hours. The roast came out wonderful. The next time I'll have it sit on the sideboard for a while at room temp. That seems to also help. All in all, a very good recipe and worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Delish! I didn't crust properly, but it still came out really good. The parts that were crusted properly were amazing! It gives me incentive to keep trying, bc even the mistakes are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Followed the instructions and this rib roast came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Amazing....it's about all I can say! I use this all the time for holiday dinners! It's on request every single year! :) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Amazingly perfect and delicious -- next time I will not put the salt on each end -- those pieces remained very salty tasting. I cooked it to 135, and it was perfection. Can't wait to do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Easy and very good.....you cant mess it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States