Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I'v done the roast this way for years, except I sear the roast on all sides in a large frying pan first. I also, roast at 250 degrees, and take it out, when the temp. reaches 125 deg. rest for 45 min. covered in foil. I tie the roast between the ribs, so that it doesn't come apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Childofchaos
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent! We used a 6lb roast and baked for the full 5 hours. It came out perfect. We also moistened the salt to a moist sand consistency so it would encase the meat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Forgot to add in my original review that I did tweak this a little, I added water to the salt and made a paste, which I then applied to the roast. This way after baking the salt little made a hard crust that I was able to break right off with no residue on the meat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnieG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I have made this twice and it turned out perfect both times! I gave this recipe to a new bride who was freaking out about making dinner for her husbands family.. It couldn't be easier. Everyone at her dinner asked for the recipe.. Thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msnopkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is fabulous! I've never made a salt crust it definitely made a very tender roast. This is the only way I'm going to make prime rib from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Henning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Way too salty. I ruined a great piece of meat and our special Valentine's Dinner. Don't try this one unless you want to waste $40.00!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Unbelievably juicy!! I'll never cook a prime rib roast any other way than this. I like it rare/medium rare, so I took it out at about 130F and let it sit for a half-hour. Was perfectly pink throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irlandese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I marinated my 8 pound plus prime rib for 2 days in an olive oil spice concoction. I made my kosher salt snowball and baked it to 138 degrees. My mistake was letting it rest for 20 minutes. My family likes their meat medium rare, i.e. pink with no blood. The thermometer read 150 and was more well done. Like i said, my mistake. If there is a next time, i will serve it immediately. I felt as if i wasted $70.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The roast turned out great, but I made a couple of improvements. I marinated the prime rib with olive oil and rosemary for two days prior to cooking. Instead of black pepper, I used a dry rub of ground green and pink peppercorns and ground coriander seed. Just put all the dry ingredients into a coffee grinder. I also coated with a little bit of a vegetable-based garlic spread. That's easier than trying to make garlic cloves stick to the meat. When done, I served with a basic gravy made from a dark roux (margarine & flour fried at high heat), beef broth, au jus concentrate, red wine, and juices from the roast. Everybody commented on how well the gravy turned out, despite the fact that I didn't have any beef drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
SO perfect! This recipe yields a perfect prime rib from end to end, be sure your thermometer is in the center, not touching a bone. Also instead of the seasoned salt we use montreal steak seasoning and some garlic powder with the pepper, then cover it with kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States