Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I altered it slightly to accomodate tighter time frame as follows - rubbed 4lb roast with some minced garlic first, then pepper and piled on the kosher salt (to anyone who found their recipe tasted salty - did you use regular salt or kosher? There's a BIG difference!!) Warmed oven up to 425 degrees, then put roast in and turned down to 250. Roast reached medium in just under 4 hrs. For reference - 140 degrees = rare, 155 = medium, 165 = well done. Let rest for 10 min, cracked off salt crust and served - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I have been cooking this roast since the late 1960's with the following differences. Wrap the roast in cheesecloth at least two thicknesses, then place the roast on the layer of salt, completely cover the roast with salt top and sides with at least one inch or more of salt, I use a stainless steel turkey roasting pan. Place in a preheated 400 degree oven and roast for 1 hour, lower the temperature to 300 degrees and cook to desired temp using a meat thermometer (this roast is best served rare to medium rare), When desired temperatureis reached, roast will be evenly cooked from outer to inner cut. Remember this roast continues to cook as it is setting. After taking in roast out of the oven, remove the roast from the salt, using two large kitchen forks, and remove the cheesecloth. There will not be any heavy salt that needs to be scraped from the roast. The roast is now ready to carve and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles B. Simpson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was good we did it on the grill and it came out nice and tender. It must be the slow cooking thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Big hit, my husband was affraid it was going to be too salty, but it wasnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila P.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Wow! i have heard of this , tried and it was so easy and fantastically juicy and tasty...highly recommend this to anyone that has a problem drying out their roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
PERFECTION Used 4# Prime Rib. Cookin took
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RusstyCT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe is amazing and easy! I have made it 3x now, and it's always great. One thing I did last time was to add a little water to the salt to make a paste and it came off easier. You can't mess this recipe up ( unless you buy a cheap piece of meat, even then it may still be ok) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was really delicious. Somehow, reading the instructions, I just couldn't see how it wouldn't turn out salty. Trust the recipe. It works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I have been making this from a southern living cookbook. Rub the roast in worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, and then rub rock salt all over. It helps it to stick I use a kitchen mallet to crack the rock salt off the roast. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wow! Thank you for posting this recipe. You made me look like a rock star chef to my family! I followed the directions exactly and it came out beautifully. This is a perfect recipe when you want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenElyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States