Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was really delicious. Somehow, reading the instructions, I just couldn't see how it wouldn't turn out salty. Trust the recipe. It works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I have been making this from a southern living cookbook. Rub the roast in worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, and then rub rock salt all over. It helps it to stick I use a kitchen mallet to crack the rock salt off the roast. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wow! Thank you for posting this recipe. You made me look like a rock star chef to my family! I followed the directions exactly and it came out beautifully. This is a perfect recipe when you want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenElyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Prime rib is great. I'd allow for additional time as I was cooking by a meat thermometer and it just took that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Like others I was so skeptical of coating this expensive cut of beef with so much salt, but wow was this amazing! I didn't mix with a little water to make a paste but next time I will do this. There were a couple of pieces that I didn't get all the salt off that were a tad bit salty but nothing disgusting. This really is an amazing way to cook prime-rib. Also, DO NOT trim the fat from the roast...this is what makes it so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Absolutly incredible. My guests were asking for more before they finished their first piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
We made this for Christmas dinner and everyone LOVED it. Even one boy who said he hates Prime Rib went back for seconds. We changed it up a little bit. We added some thyme, garlic, and rosemary and rubbed that on the prime rib before we coated it with the salt. It was so moist and juicy and delicious. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Wow! Happy New Year welcomes this recipe. What a big hit. I can't wait for the next holiday so I can make this again. I combined fresh crushed garlic,olive oil,black pepper,and seasoned salt and rubbed that mixture on the roast before heavily salting.Cooked it just like the recipe states. Came out perfect @ 145 degrees. Make sure you have enough for leftovers. I slice what's left into half inch pieces and put them on the grill to reheat. WOW!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
all i can say is yum!! i didn't have any problems at all! i started at 500 degrees to get it to brown for 1hr then switch to lower temp for 3 hrs. since it was new year's eve and i didn't start cooking this till 3am, i fell asleep but had the oven timer on so at 3hrs it turned off and cooled off and i got up and 9am scared but then was pleasantly surprised to find my roast sitting happily at 140 degrees and perfectly delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I prepared this recipe for Christmas dinner. First time using this recipe but had to try it based on all of the reviews. Very little prep time involved. Followed the recipe for prepping the roast and used a meat thermometer to gauge doneness. After resting the roast for approximately 20 minutes, I found that the salt crust on top of the roast was easily removed. Roast came out medium rare, juicy and very tender. I have shared this recipe with all of my family. My thanks to Marbalet for sharing this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States