Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I read most of the 9 pages of reviews before I made this. A few things to remember, 1.) take your rib roast out an hour or so before cooking and leave it unwrapped on your counter to come to room temperature, 2.) do not be afraid to season your meat before putting the salt crust on, 3.) use a salt paste to get it to stick to the meat (use course kosher salt, I used an entire 3 lb box), 4.) use a meat thermometer and 5.) do not open your oven. This was a wonderful recipe and everyone loved it! Even my 22 month old daughter ate a ton of it. I will definitely make this again. I had read a review to use olive oil on the roast but I didn't care for the taste. I did not season enough before hand because I was too scared but I will definitely use plenty of seasoning and garlic next time. I had a 7.11 lb roast, put it in at 500 degrees for 15 minutes and then lowered to the 210 for 4.5 hours. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Basically fool proof, I served this recipe for Christmas dinner this year, altering it just a bit. The result? Comments such as: "Best beef I've ever tasted," and "Unbelievably juicy and tender." I used an 8+ lb. roast to feed 16 people and had nothing but scraps left. Make sure the roast is thoroughly defrosted and dry (pat it with paper towels). I then applied a dry rub of fresh minced rosemary and cracked ground pepper. Slice about 3 garlic cloves, or so, into slivers and insert directly into the top of the roast, then apply the kosher salt crust. I used an entire box of coarse kosher salt for this, wetting the salt with water and several egg whites to help it stick. Lay about a 1/2 inch of salt under the roast and then pack the remaining mixture around the meat to encapsulate the roast. I was unable to get coat the sides evenly, and so I started the roast out at 450 degrees for 20 minutes before backing the temperature down to 210. The roast was cooking faster than expected, however, and I ended up turning the oven down to 170 for the last 2 hours. I highly recommend an accurate meat thermometer for any roast. When the roast reached 132 degrees, I removed it from the oven, covered it, and let it rest for the better part of an hour. Before serving, I removed the salt crust and carved individual slices for each guest. The meat came out as good, if not better, than any professional restaurant prime rib I've ever tasted. Try it...you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was superb! I won't need to go to a restaurant again. I had to add water to my salt to get it to stick to the sides. I used crushed garlic to season it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this on Christmas and received rave reviews from the entire family! I made an 11.5 lb. roast and it didn't take much longer to reach 145. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
To get the Rib Roast medium rare, 145 internal temp is WAY TOO HIGH. Better off at 125. Roast will still cook after taking off. Cover roast with aluminum foil. At 145 will make the meat medium at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My first prime rib & I got rave reviews from my husband! He's a tough beef critic & he asked for seconds and told me I needed to make it again & again. (I used sea salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was my first attempt at cooking prime rib and it turned out well. Next time I will make the following changes: 1) mix water with the kosher salt so it will form a hard shell, 2) cook it to 150 or 155 degrees instead of 145 degrees, and 3) cook it in the oven (I used an electric oven). The ribs on the bottom were rare in my opinion. The ends/sides of the prime rib were medium well and as we worked our way toward the center the meat was medium and then medium rare. I wanted a medium prime rib but overall the flavor was wonderful! Most of my family really liked the flavor and doneness of the prime rib, but a few of them were really freaked out by the bright red meat on the ribs and in the center. I will definitely try this recipe again and recommend it to others. It was very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness i am in HEAVEN. I followed the recipe to the T and it came out soooo great. This was my first Prime Rib EVER and this is the recipe i will be using again and again! If you ever had Prime Rib at Outback Steakhouse, this is what it tastes like...YUM-O!!!!!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Peterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Ok, so my entire family saw me take it out of the oven and they were REALLY concerned ... but this was the most tender, moist perfectly done rib roast I have ever cooked! I did make a paste of the salt, as was suggested by several reviewers. With the salt I added rosemary and a LOT of fresh pressed garlic. Neither my husband or son like their meat rare. When we cut the roast, it looked like it might be too rare, but it was not - the texture was so wonderful! Mmm, mmm good! Awesome! My husband says we WILL be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Ours was a 3 lb roast and it came out perfectly at 3 hours. 1/2 the roast was medium rare and the other half was slightly more rare. Perfect how we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States