Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this on Christmas and received rave reviews from the entire family! I made an 11.5 lb. roast and it didn't take much longer to reach 145. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
To get the Rib Roast medium rare, 145 internal temp is WAY TOO HIGH. Better off at 125. Roast will still cook after taking off. Cover roast with aluminum foil. At 145 will make the meat medium at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My first prime rib & I got rave reviews from my husband! He's a tough beef critic & he asked for seconds and told me I needed to make it again & again. (I used sea salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was my first attempt at cooking prime rib and it turned out well. Next time I will make the following changes: 1) mix water with the kosher salt so it will form a hard shell, 2) cook it to 150 or 155 degrees instead of 145 degrees, and 3) cook it in the oven (I used an electric oven). The ribs on the bottom were rare in my opinion. The ends/sides of the prime rib were medium well and as we worked our way toward the center the meat was medium and then medium rare. I wanted a medium prime rib but overall the flavor was wonderful! Most of my family really liked the flavor and doneness of the prime rib, but a few of them were really freaked out by the bright red meat on the ribs and in the center. I will definitely try this recipe again and recommend it to others. It was very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness i am in HEAVEN. I followed the recipe to the T and it came out soooo great. This was my first Prime Rib EVER and this is the recipe i will be using again and again! If you ever had Prime Rib at Outback Steakhouse, this is what it tastes like...YUM-O!!!!!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Peterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Ok, so my entire family saw me take it out of the oven and they were REALLY concerned ... but this was the most tender, moist perfectly done rib roast I have ever cooked! I did make a paste of the salt, as was suggested by several reviewers. With the salt I added rosemary and a LOT of fresh pressed garlic. Neither my husband or son like their meat rare. When we cut the roast, it looked like it might be too rare, but it was not - the texture was so wonderful! Mmm, mmm good! Awesome! My husband says we WILL be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Ours was a 3 lb roast and it came out perfectly at 3 hours. 1/2 the roast was medium rare and the other half was slightly more rare. Perfect how we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was really great and juicy. I used a 7 pound boneless prime rib and cooked it at 275 for 5 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Fabulous! My first prime rib and I'm thrilled. It will now become a Christmas tradition. I added garlic powder to the Kosher salt and let sit in the fridge overnight. Ours was a 8.5 lbs w/rib that took 5 1/2 hours to reach 145 temp - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
If your looking for the perfect Prime Rib just follow these instruction to the letter and you won't be disappointed. The best prime I have ever had the pleasure eating, and to think I made it. Thank you very much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States