Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I was scared, never made prime rib before & was making for my husband for fathers day, came out fantastic, I rubbed in garlic & rosemary per other reviews & I think that definately made it, the salt came right off after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was the best prime rib. It seemed strange to pat on the wet salt but it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This didn't work for me. I am not sure what I did wrong or because the meat was small (about 2 lbs) but it did not crust except for the top. It was easy to remove there and the meat was moist and so good but every where else the salt didn't crust so I couldn't remove it. The meant was salty even though I tried to scrap it off. I think it is something I did and not the recipe so I don't want to give this a bad review. As I said, where I got it to crust (top) the meat was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I have made this recipe about a dozen times in the last 2 years and do have a couple of suggestions. For a 5 lbs roast I typically use 1 1/2 or 2 boxes of kosher salt. I pour it into a large mixing bowl and add a little water until it can be formed into walls on the outside of the bowl and hold its own weight. I do this so that I can make a cocoon of salt around the entire roast with no exposed spots. Also when you place the salt on the roast use a metal spoon or spatula because your hands will stick to the salt and it will collapse instead of forming around the roast. I also take garlic cloves and cut them into fourths and insert them inside the roast between the fat layers. Also if you have the butcher cut the ribs from the roast and tie them back together the garlic fits well between the two. After it is coated I place in an oven that is 500 degrees. As soon as I place the roast into the oven I decrease the temp to 210. This hardens the salt quickly and seals the roast inside. Monitor with a meat thermometer and take out several degrees shy of your desired temp and allow it to sit in the salt cocoon and it will cook for another 30 minutes before cutting. Over all this is a great recipe and I use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
OMG this was the best recipe!!! I love prime rib but this was the first time I tried making it. I wish we could afford to make it every week. It was easy and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Mine didn't work. Couldn't get it to stick properly (very hard to do) so the juices ran out and the salt ran in! lol. But I can imagine it must be just wonderful if you get it right. Won't be trying again without help though, thats for sure. $Cha-Ching!$
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I had never made prime rib before and was so surprised at how amazing it turned out with such a simple recipe. I did use a little bit of water with the kosher salt to make it stick to the outside of the prime rib. I only made 2 pounds worth and it was done right around 2 hours after cooking. Great recipe, I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I have done salt crusted prime rib before, this was not as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Favorite way to roast a rib roast, used a boneless rib roast, used Adobo seasoning (do not think the additional salt is necessary) - roast was done perfectly (for our taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States