Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Another great recipe MARBALET, thank you. I was worried a little about the salt method, but it looked interesting so I decided to try it. I did only about 1/8 tsp. of black pepper, but did everything else exactly. It was so easy to make, it cut nicely when done, and was so tender! I do like steak including primed rib at a medium well stage, so I baked the meat for exactly 6 hours. It was fine, because the temperature was so low. The only thing was I wished it would have had its own au jus sauce, but with this recipe it obviously couldn't work. For those who had to have it, I made the packet type. I thought it was too salty as is, so I added a tablespoon of flour to it. The prime rib was so good, I didn't want to ruin it with the packet au jus, so we used it for the potatoes. I plan to make again next Christmas as of now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I am not a chef and I don't pretend to be. This was SUPER easy and ROCKED MY WORLD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
EXCELLENT. BEST MEAT I HAVE EVER EATEN. WE WILL DEFINITELY MAKE IT AGAIN. I took it out at 133 F internal temp. Meat had been cooking for about 4hrs, 210 F and then at the very end--- 15 min 350F (I was cooking other stuff) I had a 4.9 lb rib roast. It rested for 30 min, it was perfect. medium! THANK YOU.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Have used this recipie for years, would not roast prime rib any other way. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to roast a prime rib. I preferr rare and do not exceed 140 degrees in the oven. Roast will continue to rise in temperature once removed from oven. Very imoprtant to let roast rest at least 30 minutes once removed from oven, this helps set juices prior to slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I was not happy with this recipe the meat was to salty with very little flavor the instructions were a little vague. do your research before you make this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I followed these directions exactly and it came out perfect. Not too salty at all. Rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I am amazed that anyone would fool with this recipe! Absolutely delicious-- as is! The low oven temp avoids the usual splatter and time-consuming cleanup. Our roast was moist, tender, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe results in an extremely salty prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I cook prime rib like this every year at Christmas, except I use rock salt. It works just as well, and I use a disposable pan. I also rub my roast down with worcestershire before putting on the seasonings. There is never any left oversfrom this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikedixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ten Mile, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
We made this for Thanksgiving and it was soooooo good. I will never cook prime rib any other way. I followed the recipe to the letter. It was so easy. I had a 10 lb. roast that I cooked for 7 hours at 220 degrees. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States