Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Amazingly perfect and delicious -- next time I will not put the salt on each end -- those pieces remained very salty tasting. I cooked it to 135, and it was perfection. Can't wait to do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Easy and very good.....you cant mess it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Best prime rib I've made. Kept two digital thermometers in the meat while baking and pulled it out around 125-130 (thick-thin side). Flavor was awesome, even better with custom horseradish cream and fresh grated horseradish on the side). It was excellent and even the foodies at our dinner for 12 were pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this for my parents and future inlaws for Christmas Eve dinner and no one could say anything but compliments. Everyone loved this meal, complete hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megggles85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Incredible.. i was a little worried, but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hockley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Although the prime rib roasted beautifully, my family really thought the flavor of salt on the outter edges of the roast was TOO strong. NOTE: With all the salt in the juices, you could not even make au-Jus sauce from the drippings. (Yes, you could remove big chunks of salt from the roast but NOT the juice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Turned out beautifully! The salt crusted well and came off in great chunks. Roast was done sooner than I thought it would be, but could be my oven. I added garlic to the rub before salting and it was a good addition. Juicy, tender enough to cut with a fork and full of flavor. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent! Best prime rib I have ever made at home. Got approval from everyone who tried it. I highly reccomend this to anyone wanting to cook a prime rib. Make sure you scrape off the salt layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck VanDerhoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I had never heard of this tactic and was very reluctant but based on the number of good reviews I went ahead and gave it a try. Low and behold it turned out fabulous! I used some of the recommendations of others and wet the salt which made it stick to the meat a bit easier. It came out so good I am making another one just 2 weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My brother in law prepared this for Christmas - it's our first home-cooked prime rib and it was SUPERB!!! 5-star restaurant taste and quality! By mixing salt with water makes it easier to coat and prevents the crust from falling apart during cooking. He took it out from the oven at 140F and rested the meat for 30min. The meat was tender and juicy. Simple ingredients and straight forward method. It's a must have recipe for all prime rib lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States