Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I was so intimidated at the idea of cooking prime rib -- who knew it could be so simple? We have used this recipe for holidays & special occasions many times, and it ALWAYS comes out perfect. For those reviewers who thought the results were too salty, might I suggest just using the salt on the base of the pan and not crusting the meat with it. Instead use a good steak rub, and lots of fresh garlic cloves inserted into little slits in the roast. I've made it as-written, and also with these variations, and the results are always fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was so moist and tender but salty! I did scrape the salt crust off, but the flavor was still very powerful. I will try it again with just the pepper and seasoned salt and see how it goes. The meat almost melts in your mouth. I used a round eye rib roast from Sam's Club for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was deliciouse! Just like at a really good steak house!! My fiance and I loved it....we had no left overs...I only used a 2 1/2 lb rib roast tho. Sooo good. def. make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithgirls716

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I make this a couple times a year. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
this was the BEST I've ever had!!! Used a 5 pounder and cooked for almost 6 hours.....just fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawncc12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe to a 'T' and my family found the roast very salty tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Best yet. Well worth a try. My fam loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I tried this with boneless ribeye roast instead of prime rib. Amazing! My husband can't quit talking about it... he even picked up another roast this week so I can make it again. He loves making sandwiches with the leftovers :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Amazing! I made another prime rib recipe years ago from this site that got great reviews, however I wasn't that excited about the outcome. This recipe, however, is the winner. It was so easy to prepare and cook - no needing to baste or do much prep work other than light seasoning and covering in salt. It also doesn't heat up your kitchen! Always buy the top grade beef you can afford, and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
First time I have ever made a rib roast... but it turned out amazing! Super easy! I also cut small slits in fat side and stuffed garlic inside. The day after I made prime rib sandwiches with left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States