Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very nice and moist beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cakedecr8r
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The most amazing prime rib I have ever had!!!! I rubbed the meat with montreal steak seasoning prior to the salt rub. It added extra flavor! Super tender, melt in your mouth, restaurant quality results! This is the only way to make prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cakedecr8r

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We purchased a much bigger roast....so baker be ware, cooking a 10 lb roast took us 8 hours. On the flip side everyone was so hungry that they said it was the best prime rib they ever had. I was a little nervous about the salt crust but be assured that it will literally peel off....no worries ;) LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
are you afraid? why are you reading the reviews then? do it correct and you will not taste the salt. i am really bad about following recipes, i cant even follow my own, but i do use them for a guide and this is an awesome guide. i peal and slice about 1-2 heads (yes heads, not cloves) of garlic and insert into meat (avg of 8-10lbs roast). generously coat with approx 1-tsp each dried basil, oregano, thyme, sage and chicken bouillon. leave uncovered in frig over night. set on counter early am and rest at room temp for at least 5 hours. lightly coat in olive oil (lightly!). mix +/- one cup water per 3 lb box of "kosher" salt, to make thick paste. cover all sides, including bottom and sides. quick roast at 500 deg for about 10-15min, turn down to 210 and cook till thermometer reads 10 degrees below desired doneness, will cook while resting. IT MUST REST REST!!!! the salt will lift off like a helmet and you will not taste it. if you want gravy, make with bouillon, the drippings are not good for gravy. i have made this recipe several times, it is by far the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I served this roast for Easter Dinner a few months ago, and everyone LOVED it! There is no danger of over-salting because the crust comes off after cooking and the meat is amazingly tender and flavourful underneath. I bought enough to feed eight people (there were only six of us), and the entire roast was GONE...no leftovers! I definitely plan to serve this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I'v done the roast this way for years, except I sear the roast on all sides in a large frying pan first. I also, roast at 250 degrees, and take it out, when the temp. reaches 125 deg. rest for 45 min. covered in foil. I tie the roast between the ribs, so that it doesn't come apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Childofchaos
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent! We used a 6lb roast and baked for the full 5 hours. It came out perfect. We also moistened the salt to a moist sand consistency so it would encase the meat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Forgot to add in my original review that I did tweak this a little, I added water to the salt and made a paste, which I then applied to the roast. This way after baking the salt little made a hard crust that I was able to break right off with no residue on the meat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnieG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I have made this twice and it turned out perfect both times! I gave this recipe to a new bride who was freaking out about making dinner for her husbands family.. It couldn't be easier. Everyone at her dinner asked for the recipe.. Thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msnopkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States