Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Out-of-this-world-delicious! Left-overs were even better. I was concerned that the low/slow cooking method would take forever, but 6 lb rolled rib roast cooked perfectly in just over four hours - warm and pink throughout. Meat was fork-tender, juicy, and literally melted in my mouth . Next time I hope to try additional herbs under the salt coating. Salt on the bottom of the pan absorbed all the drippings, but clean up was as easy as rinsing out roasting pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious. Excellent easy recipe. I used this recipe plus put some garlic directly into the meat by slicing the cloves and inserting into slices made w/ a sharp knife. Meat was incredibly tender and perfectly (rare) cooked! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
very easy great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I used montreal steak and Jonnys seasoning salt hours prior to adding the salt over the top before cooking and it was great. Many butchers recommend montreal steak seasoning and now I know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Created a spice rub and rubbed it down the night before cooking. All the spices penetrated the meat and the salt crust made this so tender, even the most well-done pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARROBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have been making prime rib for 40 years and I am always willing to try new recipes for this delicious cut of meat. I must say, this was the best I've ever had, even though I was a little apprehensive to put two cups of kosher salt on this expensive piece of meat. It was absolutely awesome and I want to thank you for a delicious Christmas Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Fantastic! So simply to prepare and elegant to serve! It was expense - nearly 5 pounds of Choice Rib Roast at $10.99 per pound totaled $54 - but we had 5 adults at dinner, everyone had second helpings and 2 ate leftovers the next day. I followed the directions exactly and used a meat thermometer. I served horseradish and au jus on the side along with Green Bean Bundles and Rosemary Red Potatoes (both on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This recipe made our Christmas dinner so amazing! Like everyone else, I was afraid of covering $150 of prime rib with salt and ruining our Christmas dinner. Thanks to the other reviewers I proceeded with the recipe. I had a 14 lb boneless prime rib. I used 6 lbs (2 boxes) of Morton's Coarse Kosher Salt, mixed with 2 cups of water to make the salt stick. I made a "bed" of the salt mixture in the bottom of the roasting pan and placed the p.rib on it. I brought the meat to room temp. (about 2 hrs.), then coated it with olive oil, chopped fresh rosemary, chopped garlic, seasoning salt and pepper; inserted a digital meat thermometer, and packed it with the rest of the salt. Put p.rib in a hot 450 degree oven for 15 min. then turned the oven down to 225. It took 4 1/2 hours (approx) for the meat to reach 130 degrees. Let it rest 30 min. Perfection! Rare-Med Rare in the center. You have to trust the recipe and the digital thermometer (won't use reg. thermometer again)! Several guests planned to make their own prime rib this way for New Year's Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States