Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
For the minority of people who didn't like the recipe I can only guess that the salt wasn't applied correctly, a meat thermometer wasn't used or possibly just a bad piece of meat to start with. For the meat thermometer, invest in one that I digital with a probe the inserts into the meat and a small heat-proof cable that goes to the digital part and allows you to monitor the thermometer without opening the oven door during the roasting process. Mine was around $25 and is well worth it. Ignore the clock an pay attention to temperature. Second, there seems to be such an issue and debate with the salt and maybe this will help. Just remember back to when you were a kid and you would go to the beach. Remember how the soft, wet sand felt? Remember the consistency that made the best sand castles? That's what you're aiming for here - get the consistency of your salt to the consistency of wet sand and then 'entomb' your meat in the wet salt. I can hear it in the reviews - people are trying to rub it in or sprinkle it on and it's not working, the roast is coming out salty and that is why. Hope that helps! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Fantastic taste - easy to do! Did a 5.5 lb oven-prepared prime rib roast for Oscar night, seasoned the roast all over with pepper and a package of Lipton onion soup mix,then pasted on a mixture of coarse kosher salt, Montreal steak seasoning and water. I roasted at 425 for 20 minutes, and then at 215 until the temperature reached 140. I let it sit for 15 minutes, cracked/scraped off the crust, and it was perfectly medium, tasty and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I thought I had kosher salt but I only had coarse sea salt - result was excellent - family loved it - tender and juicy. Salt brushed off easily. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Amazing! I am a foodie and this was amazing! Best ever so far. I just coated the Prime Rib with butter than salted the #$@# out of it. And yes, like the other reviewer said, it does look like a snowball when you are done! And yes, even though the recipe doesn't specify, you DO coat the cut ends with butter and your seasonings if you choose and then the kosher salt. I brought the roast to room temp before I through it in the oven. It was a five pound roast and at 215 degrees F it reached 130 degrees F in 2.75 hours with browning at 425 degrees F for the first 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have been making this recipe for Christmas for the past four years...everyone raves about the meat. The salt layer under slow heat does form a crust that is easy to remove. One thing I have noted is that small end of standing rib roasts (while oh so great quality beef!) lack fat at the top of the roast or some butchers cut it down. I get a quality large end roast with a SMALL TO MODERATE (can't see the pink of beef shining through) amount of fat layer on the top and find it helps to keep the meat from becoming salty. The fat heats to form the crust layer with the salt. It and the fat peel back to reveal the most juiciest rib roast ever. Hope this helps. Making it again tomorrow....enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We tried this this recipe years ago while camping it was so moist and tasted so good and not like salt at all. Will do this again for christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This recipe is delicious. I made it for Easter and received tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily blemily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very nice and moist beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cakedecr8r
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The most amazing prime rib I have ever had!!!! I rubbed the meat with montreal steak seasoning prior to the salt rub. It added extra flavor! Super tender, melt in your mouth, restaurant quality results! This is the only way to make prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cakedecr8r

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States