Korean Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a very good basic kimbab recipe that covers all the basics. As other posters have noted the choice of ingredients is very much up to the individual with the only constant being the 1. Nora 2. Rice and 3. bamboo mat to roll it with. There are specialty restaurants in Korean that make dozens of varieties of this simple dish that can fit almost any taste from the vegetarian to the carnivore with pickle lovers and haters all accomodated. I would definitely recommend the use of the bamboo mat to get tighter rolls that dont fall apart (my wife uses saran wrap in a pinch and gives the mat to me) but the preparation time to make this dish can get quite extreme the more ingredients you add in. Tuna with a light mayo sauce is one popular variety, as is bbq bulgogi, but the choice is really up to the individual. Good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I agree with Jamie. This sounds awful. I can't imagine my mother putting canned tuna in kim bob, although she did say it works well with leftovers. We've done strips of steak, bulgogi, I can even see chicken in it. Normally, you'll find imitation crab, pickled radish, carrot strips, spinach cooked down in sesame seed oil along with the egg and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmarie2715

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
LOVE the beef flavor in the sushi. I didn't follow it too precisely, but I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I can tell this is not 100% authentic, and if there was a way to put 4.5 instead of 4 or 5 separately, I would, because this is AWESOME. Also some advice for the rice for people doing this, you should add a little oil, it makes it quite more tasty. Also, this is GREAT with JUST BEEF or JUST FISH, together it is kind of odd to me, but that's just me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Kim-Bop is delicious. Try it with just tuna, som elong pickled radish (you can find this is a asian speciality store) and some carrot. This brings back find memories of Korea with late night norrey-bongs and kimbop with some soju. Mah-Ju-Soy-Oh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have lived in Korea for 3 years. Right now I eat tuna kimbop almost every day for lunch, and it DOES have canned tuna in it. In all the restaurants. So to the full Korean who was born in America, you need to visit Korea before criticizing the writer of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
My mom brushes sesame oil, lightly salts then toasts the nori sheets over a gas burner. The toasted sheets were then quartered into small sheets and eaten as a "side". This process really brings out the flavor (sort of like toasting nuts). Her rolls are made with untoasted nori, bulgogi, egg, fish cake, spinach salad, pickled radish and sometimes julienned carrots or korean cucumber salad... I think the ingredients vary depending upon what is on hand or in season. This is a recipe that can be modified to suit your taste and to use up leftovers... Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is pretty close to the kim bop my exchange student made for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I'm full Korean - born and raised in America - and this is not very authentic. Canned Tuna Or usually any kind of tuna is not used in Korean sushi, and baking is not necessary for the Nori, using as is out of the package is fine. Other than that, everything else would be great except using chard, usually we use spinach. Other than that, an average sushi dish. Wouldn't recommend it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This recipe was given me by my dear friend Sunyoung (spelling) who was an exchange student from Korea who taught me how to make it. So i can honestly say that this recipe IS AUTHENTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States