Korean-style Seaweed Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
A note to "ivyguppy." The recipe calls for real dried seaweed. Seaweed is perishable and can easily become “slimy,” which is why it is often sold dried. You soak it not only to reconstitute it, but also to rinse off some of the salt. I recommend soaking and rinsing it twice. “Nori” seaweed is bits of seaweed that is pressed together to make the “sushi” sheets. That is why when you used it, it immediately fell apart like tissue paper. For my taste, I like to add a little more meat and sometimes I like to add tofu. Don’t be tempted to “spice it up.” Not everything Korean is meant to be spicy. I am 1/2 Korean and when I gave birth to my twins, my Mom made me a huge pot. I didn't know it was tradition to make/eat seaweed soup for new Moms. Although I had had the soup a million times before, after giving birth...the soup had never tasted better. I can’t explain it, but it was like chicken noodle soup for soul. It has remained a favorite comfort food. I asked my Mom why it was good for me , and she said…in her Korean accent…”It just is.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
A note about seaweed: A fair amount of times, I use wakame. It is easy since it is small pieces. However, the traditional way is to use "Dried Seaweed". It is dried seaweed in whole strips; it isn't easy to cut up, and it leaves flakes to clean. I'd cut up the portion you want to use and put it in water. After you transfer it to pot, you can cut it up with a scissor. Some variations: Add chopped/minced clams. Use some beef or chicken broth replacement for some water. (I usually do about 1/2 and 1/2, but I think some recipes use very small portions of the broth.) Add tofu. As another noted, use bone marrow to boil in water instead of plain water. Use thin wedges of onion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This is a great quick recipe for the city kats, but the healthiest, and usually only made by the country kats because of prep time, is made with stock that has been boiled with marrow for over a day instead of just plain old water...great for those with illness or cancer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I am 1/2 Korean, 1000 miles away from my mother's cooking and craving seaweed soup! Made this recipe exactly as suggested and it was perfect. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Needs a bit of chicken broth (perhaps one cup instead). Remember, wash the seaweed thoroughly and soak it in water for at least an hour and rinse it again. Not sure which seaweed to buy? If in a korean grocery, you can ask which seaweed is best for Miyuk Gook (the name for seaweed soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Mmmm...excellent! a nice bowl of hot seaweed soup! When I make this I usually make a large pot because it goes so fast. I soak the seaweed in water first until it gets soft, rinse, then I use a kitchen scissors to cut up the seaweed in pieces. I buy my seaweed in a bag from a local korean supermarket. Most times I pick up a pkg of beef soup bones (shank) and/or use bits of cut of beef. If you don't have any beef on hand you can always add beef soup stock. IN a pot with beef I add 1 garlic clove, minced, 1 tsp sesame oil, 1T lite soy sauce, to taste, cook for one minute, stirring. Then I add in all the seaweed, 6 cups or more of water and I let it simmer for 20 minutes. I do not add 1 tsp of table salt (too much salt) just a tiny pinch of rock salt. This soup has great flavor and is full of iron! Other people add in cut up tofu, dried korean fish (anchovies) for stock flavor, korean chili pepper, seafood,etc. It depends on your tastes. For a traditional korean style seaweed soup, you cannot go wrong with this recipe.. this is very tasty,healthy, comforting and a definite keeper in my recipe box. Tonight I just served this with, "Korean BBQ Short Ribs," and "Kongnamool," (korean veggies), from this website and hot rice. ONOlicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
So delicious. I've had this soup with the sirloin substituted with clam and made it really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baumholder, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
For a more full-bodied stock, use a piece of well cleaned kombu, 2-3 DRIED (must be dried!) shiitake mushrooms, half a onion, 7-8 dried Korean anchovies. You have to get these ingredients at a Korean or Japanese market. But this is the way my mother made the stock. And it is much more flavorful than this recipe. No chicken/beef broth needed! Much more healthier too. There is also 'dashi powder' which is very popular now. It's the stock above in powder form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
this is a great recipe.... Korean food recipes differ through each family.... Like in mine instead of soy sauce we would use some da shi da....its the same as using some beef bouillon cubes... I love this soup when I feel a cold coming on I will make this and feel better the next day... Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
The day before was my burthday. On my birthday morning, my husband served seaweed soup.. that was so sweet and delicous~! Day after my birthday, I found this recipe that he printed out from all recipes~! It was yummy and I was happy~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States