Korean-style Seaweed Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Break up your seaweed BEFORE you soak it because it gets really slippery. I needed to add a bit more salt. Overall a very mild soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I also had this soup, prepared by my Korean mother, after giving birth to my children and on each of my birthdays. It is both delicious and nourishing. I like to add tofu to it or eat it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
For a more full-bodied stock, use a piece of well cleaned kombu, 2-3 DRIED (must be dried!) shiitake mushrooms, half a onion, 7-8 dried Korean anchovies. You have to get these ingredients at a Korean or Japanese market. But this is the way my mother made the stock. And it is much more flavorful than this recipe. No chicken/beef broth needed! Much more healthier too. There is also 'dashi powder' which is very popular now. It's the stock above in powder form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Omitted the garlic and added chicken stock instead of water. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Good recipe. I like to make this with korean bbq short ribs. While I am grilling the short ribs, I will add six bones to the soup to give it a richer flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Really hits the spot. I also like two slices of jalapeno, a small slice of ginger and a little fish sauce added to the water. I don't think these additions are really necessary, it's just to my taste. Wonderful and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Considering the main ingredients are seaweed and water, I found this recipe to be quite tasty. Bland, yes, but what could you expect with seaweed soup? Used beef tenderloin and some more table salt after tasting. Next time, I would like to use beef broth or chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Needs a bit of chicken broth (perhaps one cup instead). Remember, wash the seaweed thoroughly and soak it in water for at least an hour and rinse it again. Not sure which seaweed to buy? If in a korean grocery, you can ask which seaweed is best for Miyuk Gook (the name for seaweed soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Very good, but not as good as my Mom's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
it's a good recipe. but it takes longer than it says. & of course i added a little more soy sauce. the thing about asian food is that it requires a WHOLE different level of ingredients. not only that, brands matter too. but i cooked chopped rump roast in a sauce pan on high heat. added onions, soy sauce & sesame oil to flavor the beef. then keep cooking it on high heat for over 30 minutes. it made the beef really soft. it made it more flavorful. thanks for the tips of what goes in it. now i dont have to go buy when my daughter feels like having seaweed soup. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeneric71504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States