Korean-style Seaweed Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Best teaste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enid Cortez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
needed bacon fat,onion, garlic,and red chili flake, serve wit bibimab, and it would be like how my korean ex taught me to make it. she added fish sauce, i can't bring myself to use it i'll eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My best friend is Korean, and I wanted to make her birthday special, so I made her this soup in the morning for her breakfast. She was overjoyed, and we both agreed that it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by songmaelin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Wow! So incredibly delicious! I used ground venison and 1/2 beef stock for the water. I also threw in some beef marrow bones. I don't know much about seaweed, but I used most of the Ottogi seaweed pack I picked up in a Korean store. Cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Easy and flavorful. Would be great with mushrooms. Even got my picky husband and kids to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmoh005

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Thank you soooooo much!!!! I doubled the amount because I just wanted to make a bigger batch and it came out AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! My baby who never likes to eat dinner even had 2nd servings and my Hubby who never comments on my cooking said that it was "really good" Wow! Made me feel so domestic :P hahaha Thank you for the simple but great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Decent recipe, one change I made was to add the minced garlic before adding the water and let that cook for about 2 minutes. Also there is -way too much seaweed in there. About 10 grams would of been plenty already. Other than that very simple and my korean girlfriend enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Used Dashi Kombu cuz that is what we had on hand. 3Xgarlic minimum. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Mmmm...excellent! a nice bowl of hot seaweed soup! When I make this I usually make a large pot because it goes so fast. I soak the seaweed in water first until it gets soft, rinse, then I use a kitchen scissors to cut up the seaweed in pieces. I buy my seaweed in a bag from a local korean supermarket. Most times I pick up a pkg of beef soup bones (shank) and/or use bits of cut of beef. If you don't have any beef on hand you can always add beef soup stock. IN a pot with beef I add 1 garlic clove, minced, 1 tsp sesame oil, 1T lite soy sauce, to taste, cook for one minute, stirring. Then I add in all the seaweed, 6 cups or more of water and I let it simmer for 20 minutes. I do not add 1 tsp of table salt (too much salt) just a tiny pinch of rock salt. This soup has great flavor and is full of iron! Other people add in cut up tofu, dried korean fish (anchovies) for stock flavor, korean chili pepper, seafood,etc. It depends on your tastes. For a traditional korean style seaweed soup, you cannot go wrong with this recipe.. this is very tasty,healthy, comforting and a definite keeper in my recipe box. Tonight I just served this with, "Korean BBQ Short Ribs," and "Kongnamool," (korean veggies), from this website and hot rice. ONOlicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I substitute tofu for sirloin and added some Ginger. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States