Korean Spicy Marinated Pork (Dae Ji Bool Gogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
My stepson recently came back from serving in Korea, and requested this dish. I tried this recipe and he ADORED it. I am a vegetarian, and used the sauce with some tofu. It was PHENOMENAL. A very tasty dish. Preparing it without the red pepper flakes will take some of the heat out for those who are not into spicy foods. I found that without the red pepper flakes, the heat was just right for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Dae Ji Bool Gogi is one of our favorites! I've never been brave enough to try cooking Korean cuisine, but I went for it with this one- such a great recipe. I couldn't find the pepper paste in any store, so I substituted with a Vietnamese chili paste and that was WAY too spicy, the heat overpowered the taste; next time I'll have to find the real stuff for this recipe. This is awesome when served with lettuce leaf and rice. *when we have had this at restaurants it is served with a paste-like condiment- do you know what that is and how to make it? Thanks for delicious authentic Korean Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Excellent flavor and easy to make; my favorite combination! I didn't have rice vinegar so I used red wine vinegar, which also has a lighter flavor. My wife and I love super spicy food so I doubled the red pepper flakes and black pepper. Man was it good! Thank you for a great and authentic tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I wish I'd seen this recipe the first time I purchased bulgolgi (this is how it is spelled at the AFB commissary we shop). I absolutely love it and will make it as often as I can. My SO and I love spicy foods. I didn't have hot pepper paste and substituted Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce and would bet the outcome was as good or better. Thanks for sharing this one. Can't wait to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I bought a huge pork loin and cut it into 4 pieces. I put a different marinade from the site on each one and froze them. This one turned out the best of the 4. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was delicious. I didn't have the korean hot pepper paste. I used some other hot sauce on hand. I marinated 4 large pork chops with bone in for 24 hours and grilled them. All the dogs in the neighborhood were drooling with wagging tales. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was amazing. I marinated the pork loins over night. I didnt have the pepper paste, so I used 1/2 wasabi paste. It came out great. I served with white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was perfect just like the resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Couldn't find hot pepper paste in a timely fashion so I used korean BBQ sauce. Still came out great. I have found an asian store that carries hot pepper paste so I will try this receipe again correctly. I know it will be the bomb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
this was incredible!!! Used bone in porkchops and found myself gnawing on the bone, finger licking good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States