Korean Spicy Marinated Pork (Dae Ji Bool Gogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made these for our annual "hotluck" - our spicy food hotluck, for those wondering. ;) I made this with chicken drumsticks because I figured it would be easier for people to eat and it turned out great. Other than that small change, I kept everything the same. My dish got rave reviews from fellow "hotluckers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IstyMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Halved the recipe, and subbed 3T of Thai red chile sauce. Still plenty spicy! Pork slices (I used tenderloin instead of loin) cooked up in mere minutes. I cooked in batches, sliding done slices under aluminum foil to stay warm. Went well with Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce and takeout fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Tasted very strongly of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgrove86

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Really good. Had to sub the Sroracha hot chili sauce for the gochujang and just sprinkled some pepper flakes. It was still pretty hot for us and my hubby likes hot. Flavors were great though, will make again just reducing the chili sauce, probably by half to try and increase if needed. Made with lemon basmati rice off this site, went well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
We really enjoyed this dish. I used Garlic Chili Paste & instead of sugar I added pineapple juice & a T. of hot pepper jelly. I also added 2 tsp. of sesame oil to the marinade. Spicy & delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is my new favorite food, seriously I can't wait until a week goes by so I can make it again. I use Sriachi hot chili sauce instead of the korean hot pepper paste (couldn't find the paste). I also leave out the hot pepper flakes so the kiddos can eat it. It is still spicy and delicious... YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I don't think I've ever had this before in a Korean restaurant so I am not sure how it is suppose to taste. I had some loins I needed to use up so I put this together without the gochujang. I substituted Siracha instead. Otherwise followed this recipe to a T (marinated pork 8 hours) and it was amazing!! Love the heat in this sauce. It is not for the timid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
really good, a bit spicy for my taste, but that's the whole point of the dish! We got the chili paste from the local little Korean market down the street. It comes in a plastic container. Served with rice and gai lan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pooda
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I love spicy food and this had just the right amount of heat for me. I also don't understand the people saying there was too much vinegar. I couldn't taste it at all in the finished product. This was my first attempt at cooking anything Korean and I think it turned out pretty darn good. I made homemade Mandoo and Jap Chae to go with it. After peeling the ginger I used the peeler to make very thin slices of it and then chopped it with a knife. Since I am diabetic, instead of sugar I used six packets of Stevia. I followed the recipe to a T other than that one substitution. I threw the marinated onions in the pan and served those on the side. I found the gochujang at our local international grocery store. It came in a very large tub of sorts (1kg) and it was only five dollars. I will definitely be making this again. Even my skeptical husband cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Good recipe, however next time I will omit the rice wine vinegar. I felt that it dominated the flavor of the marindade. I only added one tablespoon of crushed red pepper and it was plenty spicy (and I love spicy), and I used one tablespoon of crushed ginger paste in lieu of the fresh ginger root. The Korean hot pepper paste definitely gives it the flavor typical of restaurant style bulgogi. Overall, very tasty, this would be great with chicken or beef as well. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States