Korean Spicy Marinated Pork (Dae Ji Bool Gogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Really good. Had to sub the Sroracha hot chili sauce for the gochujang and just sprinkled some pepper flakes. It was still pretty hot for us and my hubby likes hot. Flavors were great though, will make again just reducing the chili sauce, probably by half to try and increase if needed. Made with lemon basmati rice off this site, went well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
We really enjoyed this dish. I used Garlic Chili Paste & instead of sugar I added pineapple juice & a T. of hot pepper jelly. I also added 2 tsp. of sesame oil to the marinade. Spicy & delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is my new favorite food, seriously I can't wait until a week goes by so I can make it again. I use Sriachi hot chili sauce instead of the korean hot pepper paste (couldn't find the paste). I also leave out the hot pepper flakes so the kiddos can eat it. It is still spicy and delicious... YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I don't think I've ever had this before in a Korean restaurant so I am not sure how it is suppose to taste. I had some loins I needed to use up so I put this together without the gochujang. I substituted Siracha instead. Otherwise followed this recipe to a T (marinated pork 8 hours) and it was amazing!! Love the heat in this sauce. It is not for the timid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
really good, a bit spicy for my taste, but that's the whole point of the dish! We got the chili paste from the local little Korean market down the street. It comes in a plastic container. Served with rice and gai lan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pooda
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I love spicy food and this had just the right amount of heat for me. I also don't understand the people saying there was too much vinegar. I couldn't taste it at all in the finished product. This was my first attempt at cooking anything Korean and I think it turned out pretty darn good. I made homemade Mandoo and Jap Chae to go with it. After peeling the ginger I used the peeler to make very thin slices of it and then chopped it with a knife. Since I am diabetic, instead of sugar I used six packets of Stevia. I followed the recipe to a T other than that one substitution. I threw the marinated onions in the pan and served those on the side. I found the gochujang at our local international grocery store. It came in a very large tub of sorts (1kg) and it was only five dollars. I will definitely be making this again. Even my skeptical husband cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Good recipe, however next time I will omit the rice wine vinegar. I felt that it dominated the flavor of the marindade. I only added one tablespoon of crushed red pepper and it was plenty spicy (and I love spicy), and I used one tablespoon of crushed ginger paste in lieu of the fresh ginger root. The Korean hot pepper paste definitely gives it the flavor typical of restaurant style bulgogi. Overall, very tasty, this would be great with chicken or beef as well. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Awesome dish! I was looking for something new to do with pork and this is it. I used a different chili sauce so it wasnt as hot, but was still the best thing I ate all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
So delicious! This is a great recipe. My son and I love it. On first try, we didn't have the gochujang, so we substituted with siracha vietnamese chili sauce. It was good, but too hot. the gochujang chili sauce had a better balanced flavor and was obviously more authentic. Also, the meat marinated better. We had it with short grain white rice and some of it with boston lettuce leaves. Try this recipe today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
To bulk it up, you can add sliced carrots, green peppers, and/or bok choy to it before you fry it. For best flavor, it is traditional to use pork butts instead of pork loin. You must also add some sesame oil to the marinade for an authentic flavor. Vinegar is not really a traditional Korean ingredient. Most people who live in a built up area can find Gochu Jang which is Korean hot bean paste. Substitute that for the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCKO758

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States