Korean Spicy Chicken Tenders with Sweet Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
When I was living in Korea there was a restaurant that served what we called, "Chilli Chicken." This is almost that exact chicken! I loved this dish so much that I was considering flying back there on vacation just to have it again. I also added come red pepper flakes to the recipe. We love spicy food! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I was in a bit of a rush and couldn't find gochujang at my local store. So I opted for a Thai Sweet Chili Sauce and hoped for the best. It was more sweet than it was spicy, but both my husband and I loved it! I really want to try the Korean hot pepper paste next time. Either way, I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Was a little aprehensive when I read this recipe as I don't normally like spicy foods. I have to say it wasn't really that spicy. It has a lot less punch than your standard buffulo wings. It is sweet to start and then a hint of "heat" afterward. I loved it and so did everyone else thats tried it. I would give it 5.5* P.S. had trouble finding hot pepper paste. Had to go to asian market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riska720

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good dish. I used a sweet chili sauce in place of the sugar and then a little hot sauce. Flavors were nicely balanced. Served it over brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Spicy! Could have been slightly more flavorful but all-in-all very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Very nice light taste. Also very easy to cook. I've already made this twice this past week. Like everyone else I did some subsitutions. The first time I made it w/o onions, it didn't make a big impact on taste. Like the rest I was unable to find Gochujang paste and went with Thai sweet chili. Since the chili is already sweet, I also omitted the suger and lemon peper. I made it using Golden Delicious Apples which i found to be perfect for the taste. I put too much peper and wine in the first try and it was very sauce and peper heavy. The second time I lightened up on the wine and the blance was perfect. I perfer to cut the chicken into larger chunks. The second time i did them too small and it began to shred into pieces as i cooked it. I used a simple white Chardoney, tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was very delicious. I couldn't find the hot pepper paste so I used red pepper flakes and red chile paste, but otherwise I made as exactly written. I loved it and would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very easy and tasty! I used 2 tablespoons of Siracha (sp?) chili sauce because I didn't have the one listed here. It was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this last week and again this week and it was so easy and delicious. I also couldn't find the spicy sauce so I tried the Thai Sweet Chili Sauce and it was really good. The serving size for two people was way too small for my boyfriend and I so I doubled it when I made it again. I was trying to find something good to go along with it and settled on cream cheese rangoons and it went really well. The meal is very light and crisp and I will definitely keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Amazing flavor. Love, love, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States