Korean Soft Tofu Stew (Soon Du Bu Jigae) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this as per directions. The only change I initially made was to use black bean paste instead of soybean paste and didn't add the egg. Initially I found this recipe to be as watery as soup and almost tasteless (sorry!), so then I began doctoring. I added mixed canned beans, potato, carrot and some taro root, which turned it into a stew. At that point it was edible and not bad, but I still didn't like it enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Don't omit the most important ingredient! in korea, this is fermented soybean paste stew, and it is wonderfully tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This recipe was very tasty! I did add a bit more ground beef, probably double or triple, I just eyeballed it but it was definitely more than 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Great soup! I have been searching on how to make this soup. Thank you Susie! I just added extra shitake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missLEDO
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
this is a good basic recipe for soon du bu but i just made some changes to make it more authentic :) first, its all about the broth! I bought dried anchovies (take out the intestine/gut whatever) into a pot with water the garlic, onion, shitake mushrooms and dried kelp! Bring up to a boil for 5 mins on high, then an extra 15-20 mins on low. Then remove the shitake mushrooms and chop them up into small pieces. Then using your clay pot whatever you're using, could be a large sauce pan, with cooking oil, cook the beef with the korean chili powder. Once the beef is almost brown, add the korean fremented chili paste and the shitake mushrooms. Add the broth into the sauce pan (avoid picking up the anchovies, onion, and garlic :) ). Add the soft tofu. Add a teaspoon of fish sauce (or whatever to your liking, this can be omitted) Once it starts boiling, add the crack egg. Add a teaspoon of seseme oil! it gives a great smell and makes the soup a little more tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missLEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Made this soup for my aunts as they were trying out a new diet and this recipe fit within the guidelines. The bonus was they love all Asian cuisines! I used ground venison instead of beef, and black sesame seeds as they were what I had on hand. I also replaced the water with beef broth and I lessened the amount of tofu used as the package I purchased was not 12 oz. My aunts truly enjoyed it; thank you susi EM for posting this easy stew recipe! Next time I may take other reviewers suggestions and add some shittake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I thought it was good but the tofu was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was the first time I succeeded in making soon dubu jigae. It is the Korean soy bean paste that brings this together. I've been making it without the soybean paste and the soup was never as tasty as this. I didn't have ground beef but while frying the chilli powder, I crumbled up some dried soup anchovies instead. I added some mixed seafood at the same time I dropped in the soft tofu, along with some chopped jalapeno peppers. It tastes authentic like the ones you purchase from the Korean restaurants. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is a good recipe. I read missLEDO’s review, but decided to make the recipe as written. The only change I made was to put only 1/2 the box of soft tofu into the soup (I doubt the whole 12 oz would fit). I cannot attest to it’s authenticity, but I suspect it is; the flavors are bold and complex, and it does not need a special broth. The water does just fine with the doenjang and korean chili powder. It comes together so quickly, too. My Chinese grocer had another type of soy bean paste as well, so make sure you pick up the doenjang. Also, it may serve 2 as an first course, but it’s just one serving for me. Thank you, susi EM, for a super tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hungry Gopher
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It's good, but needs more flavor. I made vegetable stock to add more flavor. This is the recipe I came up with for tofu stew, http://www.hungrygopher.com/#!korean-tofu-stew/c16f4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Gopher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States