Korean Salad with Sesame Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This salad is generally eaten with Korean BBQ meat. This recipe is a perfect dressing, better than I've had at most Korean BBQ restaurants and I got rave reviews from my friends on this dressing when I made it for our Korean BBQ dinner at home. Even my Korean mother asked me how to make it. Make double and save the rest in tupperware and you can use it as dressing on regular salads for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I made this recipe for a bridal shower and everyone loved it. I used one head of iceberg lettuce, 1 bag of rice noodles, and one shredded cabbage and broccoli bag for the salad and made the dressing with rice vinager. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I doubled the recipe so I can use it as my go-to salad dressing for the next couple weeks. I also added some roasted sesame seed and diced garlic - - a great addition! My lunch tomorrow will be the dressing over soba noodles, sliced leftover chicken breast, shredded carrots, and diced green onions - - can’t wait to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This side served in most Korean restaurants - particularly if you are grilling - is one of my favorites. Our 'go to' Korean joint in Seattle - Blue Ginger - makes it spiked with sea salt in addition to the soy sauce which makes it extra tasty. We've made this several times at home, but the Mrs. and I don't agree on level of salt content needed. I'm always trying to sneak an extra bit in when she's not looking ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieetcows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Made the dressing per recipe, but tossed with about 1 1/2 pounds of steamed green beans instead of lettuce. Served with Korean short ribs. Was a big hit at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
my absolute favorite dressing. I don't change a thing. Gets even better after a few days of sitting in the fridge, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was tasty, but not quite what I was hoping for (compared to the salad dressing at our favorite Korean BBQ place). I thought it tasted watered down, so next time I'd use less water or none at all. It also didn't need 1 full tablespoon of red pepper flakes, I used about a teaspoon and the heat was fine. I also added some ginger, and next time I might add garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This salad dressing was wonderful! I just used a bagged salad mix instead of the red leaf lettuce and green onions. Also the only things I changed about the dressing were that I omitted the red pepper flakes because I didn't have any and added sesame seeds. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I thought this tasted familiar to Japanese restaurant salads I've had before. My husband is Korean, and he didn't recognize this dish. His response was "Korean's have salad?!" Fresh salad is uncommon, because Koreans usually have some pickled vegetables (I.e. Kim Chi or other pan chon) at every meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this side dish to go along with couple of other korean dishes I made last night. It tasted very similar to what my mom used to make for me in Korea when I was younger. I didn't put 5T of water because seemed little unneccesary to me cause it will dilute the flavor of dressing too much not to mention it will result in soggy dish. Even without adding any water I had enough amount of dressing to coat entire chopped red lettuce. Overall, it is a great recipe and easy to prep. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States