Korean Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was a nice, refreshing and easy "banchan" (korean sidedish). I often make it without the carrots, but increase the green onion. I like it with a little bit of sugar added, but it's nice as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is excellent. The second time I made it I used sesame oil instead of vegetable, Rice vinegar and added some Gari (pickled ginger) Brought it to work and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This was really yummy. We made it a whole meal by pairing it with two other recipes from this site, Korean BBQ Beef and Korean squash as well as some jasmine rice. I added about 1tsp of sugar and next time I won't use quite as much red pepper flakes...Rachel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon VanSickle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I really liked this dish. I used carrot sticks in mine and marinated mine for several hours before serving. I will have to cut down on the red pepper flakes next time, because it was a tad bit too spicy for me, but I will be making this again. Oh, and I got ahead of myself and didn't saute the sesame seeds (just threw all the ingredients in a container) oops. But it still came out good. It was the perfect compliment to rice and beef bulgogi, also from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is alright, but not great. The recipe should specify RICE vinegar as white vinegar is to pungent. There should also be some honey as is traditionally use in Korea. The sesame seeds don't need to be fried, just toast them in a dry pan. Replace the vegetable oil with dark sesame oil and add directly to the sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
These were good. I am a wimp when it comes to hot stuff but I was able to handle the red pepper. It was offset by the vinegar and it went well with the Korean Squash and the Korean Beef recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was great. I used rice vinegar, sesame oil, and garlic chili sauce instead of white vinegar, vegetable oil and red pepper flakes. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraPDX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was very tasty and a good side dish to serve with Korean BBQ Beef from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe, having never experienced the real thing before, but I know what I like, and the dressing for this salad was far too astringent. I would increase the oil and choose sesame over vegetable, use rice vinegar, and add a teaspoon or two of sugar. Otherwise, the dressing is extremely unbalanced, resulting in something tart and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I really liked this recipe - cukes, carrots with a twist. I added a little zucchini and red pepper since they were left over in the fridge. I served it with BBQ chicken and thought it was a nice, refreshing yet spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States