Korean Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
very nice counterpoint to a richer asian meal. i used half white vinegar, half rice vinegar. the white vin. gave it the zing and the rice vin. gave it the right flavor profile. used a dash of sesame oil instead of veg. oil. tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I would have rated this with more stars except I think that this recipe would be 5 stars if one were to use rice wine vinegar rather than just plain white...that's the only thing I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I will make this again using less vinegar, and probally use the rice wine vinegar instead. The vinegar was way too strong, but still worth attempting again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Wow, what a firecracker of a recipe! My husband said it was very like what he ate when he did his tour of duty in South Korea. Thanks for the memories, as Bob Hope would say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
We ate this, but the vinegar was pretty strong. I guess that's the way it's supposed to be. We served this with bulgogi and kimchee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
this was very tasty the only thing i would change is i would put a quarter of the recommended amount of sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
very good, fast & easy with a tangy crisp flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I used rice wine vinegar instead of white and chili garlic sauce instead of the red pepper. We really really enjoyed this kind of a fridge pickle with a twist. I will be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I've given the recipe 5 stars based on a few changes I made. The changes were made only because I was missing ingredients. I used ground red pepper (a few shakes, taste, and then a little more), extra pepper because I like it, a little extra sugar because I like that too, no carrots because I didn't have enough and skipped the sesame seeds so justed added in sesame oil instead. I love cucumber salads and I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I use rice vinegar, 1 tsp of white sugar, a few splashes of sesame oil, red pepper flakes, sliced white onion and a little pepper. I skip the sesame seeds - they're too much trouble to toast and I find it a weird texture when mixed into the liquid. Might be better if they were just sprinkled on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States