Korean Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was really bland, won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Made exactly per recipe. Good but....needed salt. I was surprised by how spicy (hot) this was. I eat a lot of Indian, hot curry, so wasn't too spicy for me, but if you don't like hot, might want to cut back on red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Good, easy salad to make. My wife loved it, I was more just ok with it. Light and fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
yum, this is very good. i used rice wine vinegar and sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is alright, but not great. The recipe should specify RICE vinegar as white vinegar is to pungent. There should also be some honey as is traditionally use in Korea. The sesame seeds don't need to be fried, just toast them in a dry pan. Replace the vegetable oil with dark sesame oil and add directly to the sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe, having never experienced the real thing before, but I know what I like, and the dressing for this salad was far too astringent. I would increase the oil and choose sesame over vegetable, use rice vinegar, and add a teaspoon or two of sugar. Otherwise, the dressing is extremely unbalanced, resulting in something tart and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great recipe to start from but I thought it was too vinegary - I toned down the vinegar by a little bit, added brown sugar and sesame oil and it was a great side dish to the Korean BBQ marinade chicken and the Bulgogi from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Not great. I think rice vinegar instead of white would make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
We liked the tangy taste of this salad, but I do think it needs a bit of sugar added to even it out. It was better the next day, so next time, I will make it in advance. We had little ones joining us for dinner, so I left out the red pepper flakes, but have no doubt that they would add really nice heat to this salad, which I think it needs. Will use them for sure next time. I toasted my sesame seeds in the oven (a single layer on a 9" cake pan @ 375 for about 5-7 minutes) to skip the oil and that worked out great. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
It was good, but I felt that there was far to much white vinegar. I did add some sugar, but I don't think that was what was needed, next time I'll try some of the other suggestions. I did not find it to be bland, the Korean's are great at making foods taste like themselves but with spunk. The cucumber was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States