Korean Bean Curd (Miso) Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This recipe was awesome. The flavours really went well together. I especially liked the vegis and the spicy pepper paste. I will definitly be making this quick and easy soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
My korean boyfriend loved it! I madethe following adjustments: ...a little less dashi and a little more water. (Although I personally prefer stronger stocks, Korean stocks are much lighter in flavor so I made this soup in the korean fashion.) I also omitted the onion and added beef the 2nd time I made this by request of my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Very easy and tasty! I'm living in Korea and have a hard time knowing how to use the ingredients here to cook. Thanks for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
When my wife and I eat this dish here in Korea we have found that there are two "schools": Spicy and Salty. The Spicy crowd (at least) double the red pepper paste while the Salty group really load up on the Denjang (dwejang). When we cook this recipe we change any of the follow: 1) We use a LOT more dwenjang (close to double) 2) We usually will include a (half drained) can of tuna. 3) We include a few pieces of licorice root to add an unexpected and subtle sweetness. It's quite versitile and, for an intents and purposes, you could use any root vegetable in this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msmo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Instead of dashi I used rock salt, came out pretty close to my grandmother's anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I've loved this recipe in Korea and this recipe tastes just like the authentic thing! I added some sliced green onions, green hot chile peppers, and omitted the potatoes. I also used enoki mushrooms for a more authentic feel. It's great with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My husband is Korean and loved this recipe. It is the closest I have ever gotten to my mother-in-law's recipe. The only modifications I made were I used green onion instead of onion and I used fresh garlic. Very delicious and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I was really craving some Korean comfort food and this hit the spot. I used to eat jigae (stew) often when I lived at home with my grandmother and mom, and this recipe tastes a lot like theirs! I followed the recipe and used all ingredients except for the potatoes. I did add a few more things though, and that is a 1/2 lb pork tenderloin and about a cup of leftover kimchi I had on hand. Instead of the garlic paste, I just used minced garlic. I sauteed the onion and garlic with a tbsp of vegetable oil, and I chopped the pork into very thin and small pieces and added that to the pot. After the pork browned, I threw in the rest of the ingredients (including the kimchi) except for the tofu. Instead of measuring I went more by taste though, I'm sure I used a lot more denjang than what the recipe calls for. I let it boil and as soon as the zucchini got soft, I added the tofu and let it cook for just a couple of more minutes. I served with some white rice and it was just wonderful!! My husband also enjoyed it very much and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
So Good! I left out the potato though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I loved this soup, it reminds me of the Korean restaurants I get it from and that is comforting because I grew up eating Korean food. I did not use dashi granules, but I did use half chicken broth and half water as my liquid and then added my korean bean paste and hot pepper paste. It tasted perfect! I also like my tofu extra firm so I used that. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States