Korean Bean Curd (Miso) Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My husband is Korean and loved this recipe. It is the closest I have ever gotten to my mother-in-law's recipe. The only modifications I made were I used green onion instead of onion and I used fresh garlic. Very delicious and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Very easy and tasty! I'm living in Korea and have a hard time knowing how to use the ingredients here to cook. Thanks for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I was really craving some Korean comfort food and this hit the spot. I used to eat jigae (stew) often when I lived at home with my grandmother and mom, and this recipe tastes a lot like theirs! I followed the recipe and used all ingredients except for the potatoes. I did add a few more things though, and that is a 1/2 lb pork tenderloin and about a cup of leftover kimchi I had on hand. Instead of the garlic paste, I just used minced garlic. I sauteed the onion and garlic with a tbsp of vegetable oil, and I chopped the pork into very thin and small pieces and added that to the pot. After the pork browned, I threw in the rest of the ingredients (including the kimchi) except for the tofu. Instead of measuring I went more by taste though, I'm sure I used a lot more denjang than what the recipe calls for. I let it boil and as soon as the zucchini got soft, I added the tofu and let it cook for just a couple of more minutes. I served with some white rice and it was just wonderful!! My husband also enjoyed it very much and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msmo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Instead of dashi I used rock salt, came out pretty close to my grandmother's anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This recipe was awesome. The flavours really went well together. I especially liked the vegis and the spicy pepper paste. I will definitly be making this quick and easy soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
So Good! I left out the potato though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I've loved this recipe in Korea and this recipe tastes just like the authentic thing! I added some sliced green onions, green hot chile peppers, and omitted the potatoes. I also used enoki mushrooms for a more authentic feel. It's great with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I loved this soup, it reminds me of the Korean restaurants I get it from and that is comforting because I grew up eating Korean food. I did not use dashi granules, but I did use half chicken broth and half water as my liquid and then added my korean bean paste and hot pepper paste. It tasted perfect! I also like my tofu extra firm so I used that. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
My korean boyfriend loved it! I madethe following adjustments: ...a little less dashi and a little more water. (Although I personally prefer stronger stocks, Korean stocks are much lighter in flavor so I made this soup in the korean fashion.) I also omitted the onion and added beef the 2nd time I made this by request of my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This recipe tastes sweeter than the soup my mom used to make for me, but I think the Denjang (miso paste) I bought was sweet by default. I eliminated potato and added more vegetables like shitake mushrooms, pin/ stem mushrooms, strips of lean steak, then added baby bock choi & broccoli at the end (because I love my vegetables, and I like them crunchy). Nonetheless, fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States