Korean Bean Curd (Miso) Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
When my wife and I eat this dish here in Korea we have found that there are two "schools": Spicy and Salty. The Spicy crowd (at least) double the red pepper paste while the Salty group really load up on the Denjang (dwejang). When we cook this recipe we change any of the follow: 1) We use a LOT more dwenjang (close to double) 2) We usually will include a (half drained) can of tuna. 3) We include a few pieces of licorice root to add an unexpected and subtle sweetness. It's quite versitile and, for an intents and purposes, you could use any root vegetable in this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
My korean boyfriend loved it! I madethe following adjustments: ...a little less dashi and a little more water. (Although I personally prefer stronger stocks, Korean stocks are much lighter in flavor so I made this soup in the korean fashion.) I also omitted the onion and added beef the 2nd time I made this by request of my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I was really craving some Korean comfort food and this hit the spot. I used to eat jigae (stew) often when I lived at home with my grandmother and mom, and this recipe tastes a lot like theirs! I followed the recipe and used all ingredients except for the potatoes. I did add a few more things though, and that is a 1/2 lb pork tenderloin and about a cup of leftover kimchi I had on hand. Instead of the garlic paste, I just used minced garlic. I sauteed the onion and garlic with a tbsp of vegetable oil, and I chopped the pork into very thin and small pieces and added that to the pot. After the pork browned, I threw in the rest of the ingredients (including the kimchi) except for the tofu. Instead of measuring I went more by taste though, I'm sure I used a lot more denjang than what the recipe calls for. I let it boil and as soon as the zucchini got soft, I added the tofu and let it cook for just a couple of more minutes. I served with some white rice and it was just wonderful!! My husband also enjoyed it very much and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This recipe was awesome. The flavours really went well together. I especially liked the vegis and the spicy pepper paste. I will definitly be making this quick and easy soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Pretty good, but this recipe makes A LOT!!!! if its just you or someone else, half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Perfect! It tasted just like my Mom's (she is full Korean and I'm half) and I imagined that I was in my Korean home again. Thank you for this amazing recipe. I even goofed and bought the extra firm tofu and it tasted amazing. Also, I used a milder type of gochu jang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I've loved this recipe in Korea and this recipe tastes just like the authentic thing! I added some sliced green onions, green hot chile peppers, and omitted the potatoes. I also used enoki mushrooms for a more authentic feel. It's great with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Tasted nothing like the Denjang Jigae that I know and love. The Overall, not a bad tasting soup, but it does not taste like the ones in the restaurants. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great basic recipe. Used beef broth, dried anchovies, Korean red pepper flakes and green onions to garnish. Omitted the mushrooms and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Photo by msmo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Instead of dashi I used rock salt, came out pretty close to my grandmother's anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States