Korean Bean Curd (Miso) Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Pretty good, but this recipe makes A LOT!!!! if its just you or someone else, half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Perfect! It tasted just like my Mom's (she is full Korean and I'm half) and I imagined that I was in my Korean home again. Thank you for this amazing recipe. I even goofed and bought the extra firm tofu and it tasted amazing. Also, I used a milder type of gochu jang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Tasted nothing like the Denjang Jigae that I know and love. The Overall, not a bad tasting soup, but it does not taste like the ones in the restaurants. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This recipe tastes sweeter than the soup my mom used to make for me, but I think the Denjang (miso paste) I bought was sweet by default. I eliminated potato and added more vegetables like shitake mushrooms, pin/ stem mushrooms, strips of lean steak, then added baby bock choi & broccoli at the end (because I love my vegetables, and I like them crunchy). Nonetheless, fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I loved this soup, it reminds me of the Korean restaurants I get it from and that is comforting because I grew up eating Korean food. I did not use dashi granules, but I did use half chicken broth and half water as my liquid and then added my korean bean paste and hot pepper paste. It tasted perfect! I also like my tofu extra firm so I used that. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
So Good! I left out the potato though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I was really craving some Korean comfort food and this hit the spot. I used to eat jigae (stew) often when I lived at home with my grandmother and mom, and this recipe tastes a lot like theirs! I followed the recipe and used all ingredients except for the potatoes. I did add a few more things though, and that is a 1/2 lb pork tenderloin and about a cup of leftover kimchi I had on hand. Instead of the garlic paste, I just used minced garlic. I sauteed the onion and garlic with a tbsp of vegetable oil, and I chopped the pork into very thin and small pieces and added that to the pot. After the pork browned, I threw in the rest of the ingredients (including the kimchi) except for the tofu. Instead of measuring I went more by taste though, I'm sure I used a lot more denjang than what the recipe calls for. I let it boil and as soon as the zucchini got soft, I added the tofu and let it cook for just a couple of more minutes. I served with some white rice and it was just wonderful!! My husband also enjoyed it very much and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My husband is Korean and loved this recipe. It is the closest I have ever gotten to my mother-in-law's recipe. The only modifications I made were I used green onion instead of onion and I used fresh garlic. Very delicious and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I've loved this recipe in Korea and this recipe tastes just like the authentic thing! I added some sliced green onions, green hot chile peppers, and omitted the potatoes. I also used enoki mushrooms for a more authentic feel. It's great with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msmo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Instead of dashi I used rock salt, came out pretty close to my grandmother's anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States