Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Hi folks I just wanted to add some information I thought might be helpful. I'm Korean & galbi is always a favorite! The crockpot method everyone is mentioning is actually a legit Korean Dish called Galbi Chim (Braised Shortribs) Make sure and skim off the fat when it's done.. there will be a lot! I like to use shortribs that are a few inchs across. Makes for a nice meaty piece. Additions of carrot, chestnut, boiler onion and potato is delish! Eat w/some steamed rice as the flavors will be pretty concentrated to eat alone. Tip from my mom: remember to rinse off the ribs well before marinading. Give the bones a good rub with your hands under some running water or you will bite in and get bone bits. Ouch! We like to just leave them in a colander to drain a bit. Also the addition of 1/2 a grated kiwi or some pineapple will really make the meat tender if you intend to grill it. Just make sure not to leave it in the marinade for more than a day. I got carried away once and my meat fell apart as I was trying to put it on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
709 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Having spent considerable time in various eateries throughout South Korea, salivating over Gal-Bi, and missing it, I was brought back with this recipe. Thank you. I sent some with my spouse, to serve to an elderly Korean girl friend of hers. It definitely passed the test. She loved it. She offered a suggestion...Pepsi. She told me to add Pepsi! I added about a quarter can to the recipe and it rocks! Either way it's a great, great Korean taste to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
One of my new favorites, and always a huge hit at barbecues (cut into one bone per piece and served as finger food) or dinner parties (served over rice). I've always made it exactly as suggested, and typically marinate it over night. A lot of people have been slow cooking this, and that's good too, but I definitely think it's best grilled. I recommend using hardwood charcoal, which burns hotter, and cooking for 3-4 minutes per side. This cut of meat is sometimes hard to find, and even when you can, the selection can be very inconsistent -- too thick or too fatty. If it's too thick, it helps to pound it out into thinner slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Slow cooked in crock pot - fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Can't see how you can go wrong with this recipe. I put everything together in the crock pot and cooked it on low all day. I used pork baby back ribs, (I boiled them first), but this would work with chicken, beef, old socks, you name it. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is a five star recipe! My husband and kids all loved it. I changed the recipe a little, I used hot sesame oil, left out the sugars and instead used a couple of squirts of honey and it turned out perfect! Next time I'll try adding chopped green onions. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I followed this recipe with the exception of the white sugar-I just used slightly less then a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and I added a few teaspoons of chili oil (we prefer more spicy to sweet). I let it marinate overnight and then threw it in the crock pot for 4 hours-it was SO yummy! Meat just fell off the bone! Next time I would probably serve with some form of potato vs. rice as the sauce is pretty greasy for pouring over rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNESAILGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was excellent! I marinated for about 36 hours and followed the recipe, except I slow baked mine in the oven and then placed the ribs under the broiler to crisp up. The flavor was divine! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Off the hook!! Follow this recipe exactly as written. You will not be sorry. I did have the ribs butterflied by the butcher and cooked them on my All Clad grille pan. Simply delicious! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
If you want to use a slow cooker, you may add some peeled potatoes chopped into chunks of 1 1/2 - 2 inches. It's pretty good as well, and use beef flanken instead of using california ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States