Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My husband LOVES these. I make them in the crockpot. They always turn out tender and delish. I have marinated overnight and just threw everything in the cockpot and turned it on. Turns out great either way! I only use half of the garlic. Sometimes I use beer instead of water. I want to try adding pineapple to the mixture next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
As good as one of my favorite Korean restaurants I frequent, this is a treat during the summer when we grill. One of these days I'll try to pan cook it, but only after I get some better cookware. I also added kiwi to the marinade, and the meat was falling off the bone. Thank you for this recipe, it's one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
The store was out of short ribs so I used some surloin stakes insted,cut them into long stips marrinating them over night,then grilling them on the BBQ.I also use this recipe for beef jurky,a must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I am korean and i love this recipe. i like to use a lemon/lime soda like sprite in place of water and i also use my hand blender and mince the onions so the flavor really gets in. i also use low sodium soy sauce and it tastes great! thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These are great! We have made these two weekends in a row and they make two meals for us. We pair them with the three cheese scalloped potatoes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is the best marinade that I have ever used! It smells delicious and when I grilled the meat it slightly caramelized on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T. It was delicious. My husband LOVED it as well. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I slow cooked these and the taste could not be better. I think I picked slightly the wrong cut of rib (mine was labeled 'beef back ribs') because there was barely any meat to be found within the bones and fat. Every piece of meat I retrieved however was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I think this recipe is wonderful! But I must tell you all my mistake and not to make the same one....I like lots of sauce so I doubled everything, including the GARLIC. Double everything else if you like sauce but for heaven's sake, use the same amt. of garlic. I didn't think it was possible to use too much but now I've learned. I came home to a house smelling like a garlic explosion. I did use the crock pot, they are nice and tender. I will make again, but with much less garlic, esp. if doubling the marinade ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made this receipe and modified it quite a bit. I used the exact ingredients called for, except what I did completely different was I soaked the meat in cold water to take out the impurities, I did this for about 45 min., then I boiled the ribs for 2 hours. I added some garlic from the jar to increase the flavour. (For 3 people I used 7 very meaty beef ribs.) At the 2 hour mark you can tell the ribs are starting to soften up. I then transferred the meat to a casserole dish and poured the mixture of it. I cooked it at 400 degrees for 1 hour in the oven. It was so flavorful and tender. The meat fell right off the bone! These are by far the best beef ribs I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States