Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
EVERYONE loved this dish!!! There are no complaints or any changes that needs to be done here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I have used this recipe several times, and would like to believe I am a good judge of Tasty Short-Ribs. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Well, I deviated for my own taste. I used 1 C low sodium Kikkoman soy, 1/2C water, 2 tblsp rice vinegar, 1/2 cup brn sugar, 1/2 tsp fresh grnd black pepper. Original measurements w/sesame oil & garlic but used 4 chopped up grn onions, 1 tsp of sesame seeds, a tsp of ginger paste and the juice from 1 small can of pineapple to tenderize. Mixed all that up and put in a large ziplock bag with 2lbs of plain ol' beef short ribs (after rinsing & soaking in cold water for an hour). Marinaded for 24 hours. I couldn't wait to fire up the grill (finally) and even though my short ribs were about 3" wide, they grilled up tender and so flavorful. I got meaty short ribs which I cut a layer of fat off and pulled off that piece of tough membrane like pork ribs have on the underside. I forgot to have the butcher cut them into thinner slices across the bones but will next time for a more authentic dish. Even my thicker cut turned out awesome. Next time short ribs are on sale I will buy like 6 lbs and have them cut properly. I love this recipe even tho I changed it a bit. Served with fresh sesame green beans and sticky rice. GREAT, Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These were great even with only 2 hours in marinade. With the full 7-12 hours I bet they'd be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
The flavor was wonderful. I did not add onions I added onion powder. Great with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Cooked them on my George Foreman grill for about 7-8 mins. Served it over rice, came out great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this recipe for a crowd of people and the flew off the plate!! I followed the directions, as is, except washing the rib first in cold water to rinse away any bone fragments. (as someone else suggested) I let them marinade over night, cooking them on the grill around 5pm the next day. They were to die for!! I do not understand how they could be tough unless they are overcooked?!?!?!?!? Thank you for the recipe. I have stockpiled korean ribs in my freezer so I can make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I gave this one three stars because although the flavor was good, my ribs were tough---I think next time I make this I'll take other posters advice and put in a bit of pineapple or kiwi for the enzymes needed to tenderize it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Fantastic! I have made these at least a dozen times since I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My husband LOVES these. I make them in the crockpot. They always turn out tender and delish. I have marinated overnight and just threw everything in the cockpot and turned it on. Turns out great either way! I only use half of the garlic. Sometimes I use beer instead of water. I want to try adding pineapple to the mixture next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States