Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Really very good. I changed it up a bit. I lightly dredged the ribs in flour salty and pepper and browned in bacon grease. Deglazed pan with beef stock an added with chopped bacon and some of the grease to the liquid and cooked in my pressure cooker on high pressure for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've had some real Korean Kalbi and this was not nearly as good as the kind in the restaurant, but my family enjoyed it nonetheless. I might try to add some other spices, such as ginger, green onion and sesame seeds to see if it resembles the real Korean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Really enjoy the flavours of this. washed meat before hand after reading a review. Marinaded beef ribs for approx 30 hours. Used pineapple for the last hour to help break down the meat to tenderize it. Worked great. However I made enough ribs to try two different methods of cooking, I've done the grill before and it wasn't operational from the cold weather so I fried them in the frying pan and tried slow roasting in the oven. The oven method did not turn out well. I think they need to be cooked fast. The frying pan was great to cook them. Fresh out of the pan they have a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made it as written...minus the sesame oil..I was out. My 14 year old son and I loved it!! Did it in the crock pot and served with egg noodles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Tastes great! Even my grandson (age 3) liked it. Easy and quick. I followed this recipe "to a t" and it was fine, although it may be a tad salty for some folks. Just remember, you need to plan ahead for this since it requires some time to marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Humphrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was a huge hit. Replaced the water w/ 7/up n added half of a pear (minced). So flavorful, tender & afflicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Don't boil your ribs for too long, keep an eye on them or they will fall apart. Putting this sauce on them and then broiling them makes them so good. I've used this sauce recipe on other meats as well. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Govocek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
The longer this marinates, the better it tastes...Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe is RIGHT ON. I only marinated the galbi for 30 minutes, and it still tasted amazing. I also used the marinade on chicken, and it was awesome. This marinade is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States