Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
incredible. one of my favorite recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff1980
Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was very good. I use boneless short ribs. Eye balled the soy and oil. I also added hot pepper sauce and wasbi. I cooked in a crock pot and the last 15 min I added rice noodles. Would also try making with pork loin another time. If you don't have sesame oil you can use olive oil. Oh and I also add about 4 large portabella's I had chopped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Having spent considerable time in various eateries throughout South Korea, salivating over Gal-Bi, and missing it, I was brought back with this recipe. Thank you. I sent some with my spouse, to serve to an elderly Korean girl friend of hers. It definitely passed the test. She loved it. She offered a suggestion...Pepsi. She told me to add Pepsi! I added about a quarter can to the recipe and it rocks! Either way it's a great, great Korean taste to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I used this marinade for both thin sliced flank steak skewered on the grill, and with short ribs in the slow cooker. I marinated both overnight. Both were good but we preferred the flank steak. The ribs were too fatty, probably because I couldn't find the flanken cut ribs, so I used the traditional cut. But the marinade is excellent and very close to what we get at our local Korean BBQ restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Delicious flavor. I think if you don't use the flanken short ribs, these need to be cooked for a very long time either in a slow cooker, low oven or slowly on the stovetop to make these less fatty and tenderize them a bit. Next time, I'll be sure we use the flanken cut ribs. Definitely will be using this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I made these for a family that was going through a rough time, and it was so fabulous and easy. I used a slow cooker, and the only thing I will do differently next time is to use more short ribs. They cook down to not a whole lot of meat, mostly fat and bone. It was super with some mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is a five star recipe! My husband and kids all loved it. I changed the recipe a little, I used hot sesame oil, left out the sugars and instead used a couple of squirts of honey and it turned out perfect! Next time I'll try adding chopped green onions. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Off the hook!! Follow this recipe exactly as written. You will not be sorry. I did have the ribs butterflied by the butcher and cooked them on my All Clad grille pan. Simply delicious! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I followed this recipe with the exception of the white sugar-I just used slightly less then a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and I added a few teaspoons of chili oil (we prefer more spicy to sweet). I let it marinate overnight and then threw it in the crock pot for 4 hours-it was SO yummy! Meat just fell off the bone! Next time I would probably serve with some form of potato vs. rice as the sauce is pretty greasy for pouring over rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNESAILGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States