Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was good. I adapted and cooked in the slow cooker, and it turned out delicious. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
these were good and will probably make again, but they weren't 5* in my book. I had plenty of korean food while there for a year and these were a bit too vinegary and peppery then that of which I remember. Koreans like their food hot and spicy not so much peppery. LikeI said these were good for themselves not necessarily Korean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Very good recipe that my family raved over. I used pork spare ribs, marinated over night and saved the sauce to mop the ribs as they cooked. A huge hit and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
One of my new favorites, and always a huge hit at barbecues (cut into one bone per piece and served as finger food) or dinner parties (served over rice). I've always made it exactly as suggested, and typically marinate it over night. A lot of people have been slow cooking this, and that's good too, but I definitely think it's best grilled. I recommend using hardwood charcoal, which burns hotter, and cooking for 3-4 minutes per side. This cut of meat is sometimes hard to find, and even when you can, the selection can be very inconsistent -- too thick or too fatty. If it's too thick, it helps to pound it out into thinner slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
So yummy! Before serving, I added a few drops of sesame oil and sprinkle on toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taytay, Rizal, Philippines
Living In: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
incredible. one of my favorite recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff1980
Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was very good. I use boneless short ribs. Eye balled the soy and oil. I also added hot pepper sauce and wasbi. I cooked in a crock pot and the last 15 min I added rice noodles. Would also try making with pork loin another time. If you don't have sesame oil you can use olive oil. Oh and I also add about 4 large portabella's I had chopped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Having spent considerable time in various eateries throughout South Korea, salivating over Gal-Bi, and missing it, I was brought back with this recipe. Thank you. I sent some with my spouse, to serve to an elderly Korean girl friend of hers. It definitely passed the test. She loved it. She offered a suggestion...Pepsi. She told me to add Pepsi! I added about a quarter can to the recipe and it rocks! Either way it's a great, great Korean taste to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I used this marinade for both thin sliced flank steak skewered on the grill, and with short ribs in the slow cooker. I marinated both overnight. Both were good but we preferred the flank steak. The ribs were too fatty, probably because I couldn't find the flanken cut ribs, so I used the traditional cut. But the marinade is excellent and very close to what we get at our local Korean BBQ restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Delicious flavor. I think if you don't use the flanken short ribs, these need to be cooked for a very long time either in a slow cooker, low oven or slowly on the stovetop to make these less fatty and tenderize them a bit. Next time, I'll be sure we use the flanken cut ribs. Definitely will be using this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States