Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
One of my new favorites, and always a huge hit at barbecues (cut into one bone per piece and served as finger food) or dinner parties (served over rice). I've always made it exactly as suggested, and typically marinate it over night. A lot of people have been slow cooking this, and that's good too, but I definitely think it's best grilled. I recommend using hardwood charcoal, which burns hotter, and cooking for 3-4 minutes per side. This cut of meat is sometimes hard to find, and even when you can, the selection can be very inconsistent -- too thick or too fatty. If it's too thick, it helps to pound it out into thinner slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
So yummy! Before serving, I added a few drops of sesame oil and sprinkle on toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taytay, Rizal, Philippines
Living In: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
incredible. one of my favorite recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff1980
Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was very good. I use boneless short ribs. Eye balled the soy and oil. I also added hot pepper sauce and wasbi. I cooked in a crock pot and the last 15 min I added rice noodles. Would also try making with pork loin another time. If you don't have sesame oil you can use olive oil. Oh and I also add about 4 large portabella's I had chopped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Having spent considerable time in various eateries throughout South Korea, salivating over Gal-Bi, and missing it, I was brought back with this recipe. Thank you. I sent some with my spouse, to serve to an elderly Korean girl friend of hers. It definitely passed the test. She loved it. She offered a suggestion...Pepsi. She told me to add Pepsi! I added about a quarter can to the recipe and it rocks! Either way it's a great, great Korean taste to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I used this marinade for both thin sliced flank steak skewered on the grill, and with short ribs in the slow cooker. I marinated both overnight. Both were good but we preferred the flank steak. The ribs were too fatty, probably because I couldn't find the flanken cut ribs, so I used the traditional cut. But the marinade is excellent and very close to what we get at our local Korean BBQ restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Delicious flavor. I think if you don't use the flanken short ribs, these need to be cooked for a very long time either in a slow cooker, low oven or slowly on the stovetop to make these less fatty and tenderize them a bit. Next time, I'll be sure we use the flanken cut ribs. Definitely will be using this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I made these for a family that was going through a rough time, and it was so fabulous and easy. I used a slow cooker, and the only thing I will do differently next time is to use more short ribs. They cook down to not a whole lot of meat, mostly fat and bone. It was super with some mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is a five star recipe! My husband and kids all loved it. I changed the recipe a little, I used hot sesame oil, left out the sugars and instead used a couple of squirts of honey and it turned out perfect! Next time I'll try adding chopped green onions. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States