Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
It may have been the meat and not the recipe but this was not as good as others I have had. I did add the green onions and pineapple chunks to the marinade. It sat in the frige overnight and then some but the ribs were still very tough. The flavor was surprisingly subtle but delicious. I give it 4 stars for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Great recipe. Easy to follow. Sper yummy over a steaming pile of rice. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Tried it and loved it, did the crock pot way, used frozen beef ribs, threw everything in. Also made a veg. melody with squash, zuc's, tomatoes, green onions and onion in sesame oil and soy sauce,(What I had on hand) stripped the meat from the bone and since it pulled apart easily shredded it into the veggies and added left over liquid from crock pot, used baster to get liquid under beef grease, then with what was left put in freezer to skim off for later use on other recipes. Served it all over fluffy rice, Hubby loved it, he added more soy sauce for his taste, all in all it's a keeper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRONGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
These are my favorite and this recipe was just like the short ribs that I order at my favorite sushi spot...if not better... thanksfor sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was very good. I used boneless short ribs b/c that is what the supermarket had. I marinaded them overnight. I used light brown sugar and added a little molasses (it was all I had in the house). Would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I've made it several times and all my friends love it. I skipped the black pepper and it just tastes like the one you get in Korean restaurant. I also found the onion optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I used ribs in the crock pot. Even tho they all fell off the bone everyone LOVED them. The kids actually fought over the last of the meat..will have to make a lot more next time. I made rice to go with. Put in pineapple juice as someone recommended. Let cook on low from 9:30 to 3, then on Keep warm til we ate at 5. Next time I will use boneless and make a lot more!!! My 4yr old son is still crying for more meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
GREAT Flavor.... pretty close to what you would get at your local Korean Restaurant. I used some thicker sliced spare ribs but would say stick to the thin ones. Overall - Great Recipe – would make a good steak marinade too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Really great flavor, however a bit salty - would probably use the low sodium soy sauce next time. We didn't have time to marinate overnight, so our ribs marinated for about an hour or two, then we threw the whole thing, marinade and all, into the oven and cooked it low and slow. Delicious!! I served this with fresh broccoli that I also cooked in the oven with some of the marinade from the meat, a perfect side dish. Looking forward to trying this again and doing the overnight marinade & grill - perhaps might not be as salty then as well. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberjoih

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Pretty good but not authentic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States