Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I gave this one three stars because although the flavor was good, my ribs were tough---I think next time I make this I'll take other posters advice and put in a bit of pineapple or kiwi for the enzymes needed to tenderize it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Fantastic! I have made these at least a dozen times since I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My husband LOVES these. I make them in the crockpot. They always turn out tender and delish. I have marinated overnight and just threw everything in the cockpot and turned it on. Turns out great either way! I only use half of the garlic. Sometimes I use beer instead of water. I want to try adding pineapple to the mixture next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
As good as one of my favorite Korean restaurants I frequent, this is a treat during the summer when we grill. One of these days I'll try to pan cook it, but only after I get some better cookware. I also added kiwi to the marinade, and the meat was falling off the bone. Thank you for this recipe, it's one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
The store was out of short ribs so I used some surloin stakes insted,cut them into long stips marrinating them over night,then grilling them on the BBQ.I also use this recipe for beef jurky,a must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I am korean and i love this recipe. i like to use a lemon/lime soda like sprite in place of water and i also use my hand blender and mince the onions so the flavor really gets in. i also use low sodium soy sauce and it tastes great! thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These are great! We have made these two weekends in a row and they make two meals for us. We pair them with the three cheese scalloped potatoes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is the best marinade that I have ever used! It smells delicious and when I grilled the meat it slightly caramelized on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T. It was delicious. My husband LOVED it as well. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I slow cooked these and the taste could not be better. I think I picked slightly the wrong cut of rib (mine was labeled 'beef back ribs') because there was barely any meat to be found within the bones and fat. Every piece of meat I retrieved however was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States