Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very delish! I read one of the reviews and it said that this cut is hard to find. Mostly, you can find this cut in Asian markets. Most big enough Asian market carries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My one and only korean-style marinade. You don't necessarily have to use shorts ribs all the time (it can get pricey). If lucky, sometimes I would use various types of tender beef cuts that has some kind of fat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Truely a 5 star recipe. Can't go wrong with it the way it's written. I'm in Okinawa and our base commissary always seems to have flanken style ribs for very reasonable prices. So, we have them a couple times per month. An Okinawan lady told me to put an Asian pear in the blender with all other ingredients. (Asian pears are shaped more like an apple and have greenish yellow skin) The pear will tenderize the meat and it produces an unbelievable taste. I've also put pineapple juice and fresh pineapple in the marinade before too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Holy cow...! I used this recipe for pork short ribs...phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My favorite! I have used this recipe several times and it makes my mouth water just thinking about making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Hartman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
It was probably my fault because I did these in a crock pot BUT they looked, smelled and tasted bland. I had to special order the ribs because I wanted to follow the recipe in terms of ingredients. I think if I'd used pork short ribs and cooked as directed, they would have been much better. Ono Spareribs (later found in my recipe folder) are wonderful and that's what I was picturing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great. My partner doesn't normally like marinated meats. This is the exception. It would be best (like most other meats) to cook over the grill, but we made do with stove-top cooking. Added stir fry veggies on the side. Summer plans include grilled pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
OMG!! delicious!! added a grated peeled kiwi to the marinade to ensure tenderness as everyone was skeptical but their wasn't enough!! everybody kept eating till it was gone then complained that almost 6 pounds of ribs was not enough for 4 people!! A keeper and I am using this marinade for the cheaper cuts of meat that are a little tougher and could use this delicious flavor!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
GREAT!!! I ran out of soy sauce so I didn't use the full 3/4 cups, but it still turned out awesome. My boyfriend wants me to make it for every Sunday Football now.... thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These are absolutely the best. Can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States