Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe is unbelievable! I couldn't find beef short ribs so I used pork country ribs. I followed the recipe exactly as its written. my husband loves my cooking anyway, but he raved about these ribs. I made fried rice as a side dish. Wonderful together! I've got them marinating now for tonight. I think I'm going to try to boil some of the marinade and serve a little bit as a dipping sauce with them. I'll edit this and let you know how that turns out. These are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. It tastes just like the Galbi you have in the Korean restaurants in Koreatown here in LA. I can't always get short ribs with the bone in so the boneless large pack at Costco works just fine. I add a bit of crushed pineapple or minced Kiwi to the marinade to tenderize the meat. My Korean gf gave me that suggestion and it works wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddasiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
LOVE THIS!!! I cook this recipe all the time for parties. EVERYONE that eats them can not stop eating them. I don't like meat, but I can not get enough of these! YUMMY!! BEST recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
The flavor of the sauce is unbelievable. I boiled the marinade for a few minutes and poured it over rice. Delicious! While I enjoyed the charbroiled medium rare beef on the grill, next time I think I will use the crockpot for more tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Family favorite! Followed recipe as is, but only marinated for about 7 hours & they were wonderful. Served with an Asian Slaw & grilled asparagus...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent marinade - tastes like mom's (perhaps better!). I subbed balsamic vinegar in place of white, and grilled at high-heat to medium-rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Really good - and the marinade was good on pressed tofu as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great but too fatty for BK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe was great. My suggestion would be to marinate for the full 12 hours. I made the recipe almost as writted. I had more meat, so I doubled the marinade, excluding the garlic, onion, and sesame oil. I also added 2 ends of a green onion. I'm not a big sesame oil fan, thats why I didn't include the double amount. Regardless, great recipe. Will definately make again, but marinate longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very easy to make and absolutely delicious. The hardest part is looking for that specific cut of meat, usually in Korean or Japanese supermarkets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States